Sesame Crusted Mahi Mahi with Soy Shiso Ginger Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
I was initially skeptical about this recipe combining western ingredients with an eastern recipe, but my husband and I, who are both self-professed foodies, were very pleased. I saw no need to bake the fish, I kept everything on the stovetop and it came out beautifully. I grated more ginger, added more wine and cream and a touch more soy sauce. I used sole for my fish, which cooks very quicky. Seared seasame was wonderful. After flipping the fish once, I turned the heat to low, covered the pan briefly while I blended the sauce. I turned the heat on hi again afterwards and poured some of the sauce on the fish and let it simmer for a few seconds. Then I turned the heat off completely and covered the pan so that the fish could sit in the warm sauce while we ate our udon beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Better than any restaruant can do!!!! This recipie rocks and is easy to do. I sought out and bought the Shiso, and could not really taste it - so don't worry if you can't find it. I also found that I needed to cook the fish in the oven a bit longer than suggested to get it cooked all the way through. You owe it to yourself to try this~!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
WOW!!! OMG! This is BY FAR the best fish I've ever had! The sauce was the best part - Dee-Lish! I use 2 TBSP+ of ginger for the sauce. Also, make sure the lemon you use is a large one. I usually make this with seared tuna steaks, brushed with sesame oil then salt & peppered. All my friends have had this recipe and beg for me to make it! Thanks for the great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Excellent recipe which I have used with Mahi Mahi and Salmon. The butter sauce was excellent despite not being able to locate the Shiso in Oklahoma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Amazing! I made this for a dinner party last night. This morning, the emails are flying around about how amazing it was. The friends who were unable to attend last nights dinner party are begging for a repeat. The friend that did attend last nights dinner party are begging to be invited to the repeat. I was unable to find the shiso leaves, but as others did, I substitued fresh basil and mint. I used halibut as opposed to Mahi-mahi. It was cooked to a nice medium-rare to medium and was melt in your mouth good. I served this with Miso soup, sticky rice, and sauted green beans. Thank you for the recipe... My friends now think that I'm a much better cook than I really am! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
If there were more stars offered, this recipe would get them. It is FANTASTIC! The sauce is out of this world good! I didn't use mahi mahi becuase it wasn't fresh, so I used orange roughy. I too was unable to find shiso leaves. I served the fish on a bed of jasmine rice (Allrecipe.com recipe) for a dinner party and everyone raved about it. This is my new favorite fish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
I have made this recipie several times with all different type of fish and my husband and I love it every time. A+ recipie! I will cook it over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
I live in Japan and haven't been able to find even a translation for mahi mahi, much less mahi mahi itself. I used swordfish steaks with the recipe scaled for 2. It was excellent, though a I would recommend increasing the wine, cream and butter a little to make more sauce. I juiced a lemon, but next time will probably just use lemon juice to cut down on hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tsu, Mie, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I loved it; my three-year-old loved it; my picky husband thought it was okay. I substituted salmon, and to cut some of the calories, used 2% milk instead of cream and only half the butter. The sauce was a little thin but tasty. The milk started to curdle a little when I added it to the shallot/lemon mixture, but the blender whirled it all together nicely in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Stellar. I did not have shiso, so I substituted four large fresh basil leaves and a few mint leaves. Also olive oil rather than canola oil. Probably the best fish dish I have prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States