Sesame Crusted Mahi Mahi with Soy Shiso Ginger Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Amazing! I made this for a dinner party last night. This morning, the emails are flying around about how amazing it was. The friends who were unable to attend last nights dinner party are begging for a repeat. The friend that did attend last nights dinner party are begging to be invited to the repeat. I was unable to find the shiso leaves, but as others did, I substitued fresh basil and mint. I used halibut as opposed to Mahi-mahi. It was cooked to a nice medium-rare to medium and was melt in your mouth good. I served this with Miso soup, sticky rice, and sauted green beans. Thank you for the recipe... My friends now think that I'm a much better cook than I really am! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
I was initially skeptical about this recipe combining western ingredients with an eastern recipe, but my husband and I, who are both self-professed foodies, were very pleased. I saw no need to bake the fish, I kept everything on the stovetop and it came out beautifully. I grated more ginger, added more wine and cream and a touch more soy sauce. I used sole for my fish, which cooks very quicky. Seared seasame was wonderful. After flipping the fish once, I turned the heat to low, covered the pan briefly while I blended the sauce. I turned the heat on hi again afterwards and poured some of the sauce on the fish and let it simmer for a few seconds. Then I turned the heat off completely and covered the pan so that the fish could sit in the warm sauce while we ate our udon beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
I have made this recipie several times with all different type of fish and my husband and I love it every time. A+ recipie! I will cook it over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
I live in Japan and haven't been able to find even a translation for mahi mahi, much less mahi mahi itself. I used swordfish steaks with the recipe scaled for 2. It was excellent, though a I would recommend increasing the wine, cream and butter a little to make more sauce. I juiced a lemon, but next time will probably just use lemon juice to cut down on hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tsu, Mie, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Better than any restaruant can do!!!! This recipie rocks and is easy to do. I sought out and bought the Shiso, and could not really taste it - so don't worry if you can't find it. I also found that I needed to cook the fish in the oven a bit longer than suggested to get it cooked all the way through. You owe it to yourself to try this~!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
WOW!!! OMG! This is BY FAR the best fish I've ever had! The sauce was the best part - Dee-Lish! I use 2 TBSP+ of ginger for the sauce. Also, make sure the lemon you use is a large one. I usually make this with seared tuna steaks, brushed with sesame oil then salt & peppered. All my friends have had this recipe and beg for me to make it! Thanks for the great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Excellent recipe which I have used with Mahi Mahi and Salmon. The butter sauce was excellent despite not being able to locate the Shiso in Oklahoma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I loved it; my three-year-old loved it; my picky husband thought it was okay. I substituted salmon, and to cut some of the calories, used 2% milk instead of cream and only half the butter. The sauce was a little thin but tasty. The milk started to curdle a little when I added it to the shallot/lemon mixture, but the blender whirled it all together nicely in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Stellar. I did not have shiso, so I substituted four large fresh basil leaves and a few mint leaves. Also olive oil rather than canola oil. Probably the best fish dish I have prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
If there were more stars offered, this recipe would get them. It is FANTASTIC! The sauce is out of this world good! I didn't use mahi mahi becuase it wasn't fresh, so I used orange roughy. I too was unable to find shiso leaves. I served the fish on a bed of jasmine rice (Allrecipe.com recipe) for a dinner party and everyone raved about it. This is my new favorite fish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States