Sesame Crusted Mahi Mahi with Soy Shiso Ginger Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
wasn't able to find the shisho, but was very good! sauce was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
Outstanding! Used Chilean Sea Bass instead of Mahi Mahi, but it was still awesome. Couldn't find the Shiso, but the sauce was still unbelievable. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
This also works with other fish besides mahi mahi. Halibut, wahoo, swordfish, salmon, and tuna also work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
Very, very good. Sauce seems to have a lot of latitude, because I substituted onions for shallots, and used 1/2 tsp dried ginger (Penzey's China #1) instead of fresh. So quick and easy -- I made the sauce on my lunch break, then dinner took almost no time to put on the table. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
I don't get it. This sauce was VERY lemony and SOY was the only other flavor I could taste. I didn't have the shiso;maybe that would have balanced the flavors out more...? Also, my lemon was very large and juicy (recipe just says "1 lemon, juiced"). ? I will try this one again, (due to the great reviews)with a smaller lemon and I will find this "shiso". Maybe it will change my 3 stars. Until then, LOVED the mahi mahi seared with the sesame seed topping. Will definitely do that again. FYI, I bought FROZEN Mahi Mahi (at a Sam's Club)and it was delicious! The only problem was each piece was a DIFFERENT THICKNESS, making some done more than others, but still very good flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
I was initially skeptical about this recipe combining western ingredients with an eastern recipe, but my husband and I, who are both self-professed foodies, were very pleased. I saw no need to bake the fish, I kept everything on the stovetop and it came out beautifully. I grated more ginger, added more wine and cream and a touch more soy sauce. I used sole for my fish, which cooks very quicky. Seared seasame was wonderful. After flipping the fish once, I turned the heat to low, covered the pan briefly while I blended the sauce. I turned the heat on hi again afterwards and poured some of the sauce on the fish and let it simmer for a few seconds. Then I turned the heat off completely and covered the pan so that the fish could sit in the warm sauce while we ate our udon beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
I have made this recipie several times with all different type of fish and my husband and I love it every time. A+ recipie! I will cook it over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
I live in Japan and haven't been able to find even a translation for mahi mahi, much less mahi mahi itself. I used swordfish steaks with the recipe scaled for 2. It was excellent, though a I would recommend increasing the wine, cream and butter a little to make more sauce. I juiced a lemon, but next time will probably just use lemon juice to cut down on hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tsu, Mie, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Better than any restaruant can do!!!! This recipie rocks and is easy to do. I sought out and bought the Shiso, and could not really taste it - so don't worry if you can't find it. I also found that I needed to cook the fish in the oven a bit longer than suggested to get it cooked all the way through. You owe it to yourself to try this~!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

How to Make Brown Butter Sauce

Learn this easy way to make brown butter sauce and a simple sole meuniere.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States