Sesame Crusted Mahi Mahi with Soy Shiso Ginger Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Very good! I think next time I will use half a lemon instead. I used frozen basil from Trader Joes and instead of shallots, I used a red onion. I took the advice of another review and just made the sauce in a pan instead of a blender. I served on jasmine rice, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Honestly. This is the best thing I've ever eaten. I'm a cook and a foodie but I had no idea I could create something this delicious. 6 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Wow! I was really impressed with this dish. I used Opah because it was fresh and used scallion and basil substitutes. OMG! The fish was good without the sauce but with it was awesome. I almost licked my plate!! Thanks so much! I will be making probably once a week at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April N.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I prepared this dish for different guests few times. They all love it so much. I didn't cook with mahi mahi, I have used seabass and black cod. They turn out very good. One of my favourite for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I only made the sauce, but it was awesome. I actually tweaked this a bit because of the lack of my own ingredients. I added only 2 green onions, 2 1/2 tsp. of ground ginger, regular white wine and guessed on the bottled lemon juice, and added one Trader Joes frozen chopped basil cube instead of the shiso leaves and part salted butter and part unsalted (since I did not have enough unsalted). Everything else the same. I did nothing in blender, but all in the saucepan. This was easy for me and it tasted wonderful! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This dish took longer to make even with the help of my husband and my sauce didn't quite thicken and I used basil instead of shiso (whatever that is). AND SO WORTH THE TROUBLE!!! It was a great meal, in fact my husband declared it the best dinner of our three year marriage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This recipe is amazing!!!!!!!. i especially love the shiso,itss cuh an exotic herb! the creamy yet soicy sauce just tasted wonderful over the strips of fish,and the seame just completed this awesome meal. Might i suggest serving over Bok Choy with mandarin oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Really great. Sauce is perfect for the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSHARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delaplane, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Deliious, but very rich; be sure to pair with a LIGHT side dishes such as vegetables and salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
The fish was really good but the sauce was awful! It made me feel sick by the few drops that made it in my stomach. I will make the fish again, but not the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicago Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

How to Make Brown Butter Sauce

Learn this easy way to make brown butter sauce and a simple sole meuniere.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States