Sesame Crusted Mahi Mahi with Soy Shiso Ginger Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
LOVED the recipe. So yummy, my 2 year old loves the sauce. I have to admit, I did cut down on the butter to make it a little more healthy and it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is one of the best fish recipes I have tried lately!! My 2 year old even liked it. I followed the recipe except for using fresh basil instead of Shiso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
My family and I thought this was good, but not exceptional. I do agree with the other reviewers that this is restaurant-quality food. That being said, restaurant-quality food is -and should be- rarely, if ever, as good as homemade. Should we decide to give it a try again, I'll definitely make some substitutes for all the fat and cut the salt; unfortunately, this also resembles a restaurant meal with its high saturated fat and sodium content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
The sauce is quite incredible. I followed one reviewer's advice and used two small lemons instead of just one, and that made it way too tart! I had to add sugar to balance it out, but that ended up adding a nice touch of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This sauce is excellent. I couldn't find shiso leaves, I used some cilantro instead, but it was heavenly! However, I would suggest pan searing in butter, not oil, because I think butter makes a much nicer crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Zita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was good, this was a fussy recipe, I didn't think it was exceptionally good. I used Red Snapper fish. I couldn't find 'japanese basil', I used thai basil, wonder if it made a difference. Served this with japanese sushi rice and mashed asian butternut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I loved this recipe. I have difficulty to find a great recipe for white fish, but this recipe is so delicious. The sauce was amazing. You can use this sauce on anything. I didn`t find shiso leaves and I used basil + mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I just made this & we loved it, but I did something wrong. First of all, I thought the fish I was cooking with was Dorado (Mahi Mahi).. *my husband is a fisherman, so we have all kinds of fish in our freezer* but he had given me sea bass to thaw out last night instead of Dorado. Now don't get me wrong, Sea Bass is a great tasting fish, the only thing is: it's a bit more 'meaty' than Dorado, so this recipe sort of dried it out which Dorado wouldn't have. It still tasted great...my husband & I thought the next time I make it (w/Sea bass) I'd do everything the same, except after searing the fish, I'd put it in the oven w/that great sauce poured over it, so it absorbed some of the sauce, instead of using the sauce just as a side. Other than that, this was great! The sesame seads were great and again the sauce was awesome! Thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahicswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
OMG! Eating this was like being at a expensive resturant. So easy, yet so gormet. Couldn't find the shiso, so I just left it out. What is it anyways? My husband is a fisherman, so now I have the recipe I've been looking for. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was awesome with Tuna. I got some bluefin tuna right off the boat and knew it was meant to be seared. If you make this with tuna just coat with the sesame seeds and pan sear each side for 45 secs. There is no need to bake tuna. I made the following modifications for a smoewhat healthier/not so rich sauce and accented taste: Leeks for shallots/ Real grated organic giner root/ Low fat milk for heavy cream (with the butter you really don't need the cream)/Cut the butter portion by 1/4 and used Smart Balance spread for the remaining amount/ 1 extra tbsp reduced sodium soy sauce/ Cilantro instead of Shiso/ Organic Olive Oil cooking spray/2 tsp real wasabi paste. I served it with some miso-leek-nori soup and seaweed salad. AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Berlin, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States