Sesame Crusted Mahi Mahi with Soy Shiso Ginger Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
OK. We were snowed in; I had 2% milk, no cream. I used basil like another reviewer. This was by far the best sauce for a fish EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
OMG! YUM! This is my first review but had to comment on this recipe because this is the sooo delicious, even though I have no idea what shiso leave are and didn't use them and used onions because I didn't have shallots. Soooo delicious. I can't wait to make again with the correct ingredients and see if it is even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Wishing there were more than just 5 stars! I made this for my daughter and me,we took 1 bite and just looked @ each other,knowing I stumbled on a keeper! I am cutting back on calories and fat,used skim milk in place of cream and used only 1/4 cup butter.Didn't have white wine,used red(shiraz). Didn't have shiso leaves,used 1/2 teaspoon dried basil.Still made a fantastic sauce. Only had 2 good sized mahi-mahi filets,used 2 salmon filets along w/ mahi-mahi. .Didn't have black sesame seeds.just used reg. sesame seeds. When wind chill factor is -10*, us snowbirds make do w/ what is in the house! Can't wait to impress family and friends w/ this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzyandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is my favorite recipe to make for company or a special occasion. I use tuna instead of mahi mahi, but the sauce is perfect! My guests always ask for the recipe. Shiso is often served with tuna sashimi and soy sauce in Japan, and this is a great Western take on that combination. If you can't find shiso, you could probably buy the seeds online and grow it. In my humble opinion, there really is no substitute, although I'm sure the recipe is good without the shiso. If you make up extra sauce and freeze it, this can be a quick meal on a weeknight. Sometimes, it's difficult to reheat the sauce without it separating, but the flavor is unchanged.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whiterhino
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is an exceptional dish! In fact I am currently making it for about the 6th time. My Fiancee and I just love it! The only thing I change is I sear it in sesame instead of canola for a little bit more of that sesame flavor. Don't try to make this dish healthy!! I did and it was not NEARLY as good. Just let this be a special treat! That is what it is in our house. Also the sauce goes GREAT over mashed potatoes so I usually make something the next day with mashed potatoes just so I can use the leftover sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Fantastic flavor. My husband said "this is the mother of all sauces." I didn't use the black sesame seeds, shiso leaves or kosher salt because I couldn't find any. Instead, used extra white sesame seeds and regular table salt. Still came out wonderful, but next time I will use about half the salt. This is by far our favorite mahi recipe now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
The sauce was awesome! I went to Costco (they have the best fish) and they were out of Mahi Mahi so I used Halibut filets. It was still delicious. I will make this again. his was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I found this to be a pretty good dish. If you are having trouble finding shiso leaves, then go to any half way decent sushi restaurant, offer to buy 4 leaves, and they will more than likely give them to you. Basil and/or mint do not make good substitutes, you would be better off simply omitting the shiso. The sauce is basically a beurre blanc sauce with a Japanese influence. Muscadet is the traditional wine used for beurre blanc sauce, but any dry acidic white wine will do. I usually use a Sauvignon Blanc with a very nice acidity to it, and I never use a wine for cooking that is not good enough to enjoy on its own. I like my beurre blanc to have a very high acidity to it, like this one does, but for those who don't like a very acidic sauce, I might recommend cutting back a tiny bit on the lemon juice. Next time I will try cooking the mahi mahi in olive oil, instead of canola, as I think that will improve on the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This recipe was amazing! The flavors melt together and perfectly compliment one another. We put the Mahi Mahi on a bed of Jasmine rice with steamed fresh green beans as a side. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
LOVED the recipe. So yummy, my 2 year old loves the sauce. I have to admit, I did cut down on the butter to make it a little more healthy and it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States