Sesame Crusted Mahi Mahi with Soy Shiso Ginger Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I would give this six stars if I could. We don't usually cook a lot of fish, but made this on vacation when we had access to fresh mahi mahi, and oh my goodness it is out of this world. The sesame crust is a very nice touch, and the sauce.... oh the sauce. Amazing. Since then, we've made it with talapia, but prefer it with the mahi mahi. We made a lot of substitutions b/c of what was available. We used onion instead of shallots, half and half instead of cream, fresh mint and basil instead of shiso, and plain sesame seeds instead of black. We also added chopped shiitaki mushrooms to the sauce. Served it over brown rice. It doesn't take long to make, not that hard, and very very good. It is a recipe that we drool over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This sauce is AMAZING! We had it with Mahi Mahi the night I made it and its delicacy matched the fish perfectly. But I had some leftover and notice that the delicate flavour had strengthened in the fridge overnight so decided to do a rolled chicken/prosciutto/dijon recipe I had (usually with a Chardonnay sauce) to use up the leftover sauce. It was top-drawer restaurant quality!!...and so simple. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. Plan to try it with red wine instead of white and rosemary for herbs served with lamb. Will share how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Divine! This is my and my husband's FAVORITE dish, and whenever we've made it for family and friends, they're stunned by the amazing deliciousness...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This was amazing! made this for a hawaiian themed cooking night. Very easy and delicious. Biggest hit of the night! could not find shiso so substituted basil and mint as others had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This sauce was great and although it sounds a little hard to do, it really isn't. I took some people's advice and the only changes I made was to add a little cornstarch thickener because it was a little runny, used basil instead of shiso, and I also added wasabi powder (I added 2 tbsp., but I like it spicy) and put it over seared tuna... AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jprogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was a terrific recipe. I have never prepared Mahi Mahi before and this was easy and done to perfection. Very moist and the sauce is yummy! Hubby is not a fish lover and even he was impressed! I could not find shiso leaves so I substituted 1/4 tsp of dried basil, I will continue to look for the shiso leaves though to try the real version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This was very good-everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I made this for a dinner party and got RAVE reviews! Since one of my guests was lactose intolerant, I made two sauces, the original, and one where I replaced the cream and butter with 3/4 cup ripe, mashed avacado. My guests had second helpings of both sauces, and still couldn't decide which they liked better. I replaced the Japanese herb with fresh basil and mint. Thank you for this wonderful treat! The mixed sesames make it a very pretty dish, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Easily the best thing I have ever made in my life. I had my guests both begging for the recipe and asking me how long I was hiding these cooking skills. Combined it with stirfry veggies in a thai peanut sauce and rice pilaf. Really, really good. I only changed the shiso for basil since I've never even seen that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States