Sesame Crusted Mahi Mahi with Soy Shiso Ginger Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe for mahi mahi! I did not have shiso (or basil and mint) or white wine, and it still turned out excellent- can't wait to make it again- with all ingredients! I made seems noodles with broccoli as a side but think it would better with some jasmine or brown rice and broccoli as other reviews suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkgramlich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
By far the best fish dish i have ever made! My girlfriend and I almost licked the plate! WOW!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
wow awesome we loved it, unfortunately when I decided to make this for dinner I had no shiso but it was still amazing, next time I might add a touch more ginger, but it was superb a real keeper. I also did the fish on the stove top and did not use the oven, great with jasmine rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shazza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I'm a big fan of using what I have in my kitchen. Substituted half and half for heavy cream, ginger paste (halved the amount) instead of fresh ginger, and poppy seeds instead of black sesame seeds. Turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Absolutely divine! My changes: 1/4 cup butter and 1 cup cream. I am making this again today with rare tuna as an appetizer .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I was really hoping to give this 5 stars!! Especially after the rave reviews here!! Made this tonight and it was fairly easy(didn't have shiso, substituted basil leaves as others did). I've never made any type of fish at all- and never had mahi mahi. The fish was great(giving 3 stars), but the sauce.... egh. It was alright with the perfect amount on the fish(and some on the jasmine rice I prepared as it's side), but if you had too much or tasted it by itself- not too god. Tasting it first, by itself, was a turnoff. That's what takes the most time here, too, so it was a little upsetting/disappointing. My guess is MAYBE subtract some of the soy sauce? It just seemed to overpower the other ingredients- somehow! My picky 5 year old, however, disagrees. He chowed down and loved it. My mom- which normally gobbles my cooking up- did not like the sauce or the sesame seeds, would've preferred it plain(although she did scrape the seeds off and didn't even put sauce on(just dipped a piece)- said the salt and extra virgin olive oil tasted great by itself. The fish came out flaky and juicy and yummy though- given they were frozen from Bottom Dollar, I'm surprised! But considering I can't compare it to fresh, I really can't say about that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kemara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
WOW! This is a great dish. The sauce and the sesame seed crust are wonderful. My store didn't have mahi mahi, so I got tilapia. No shiso either, so I skipped it. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly, and it's a new household favorite. I made a side of "Udon Peanut Butter Noodles" using a variation of the recipe here. Also served with steamed broccoli with some butter. It's going to be repeated for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephG11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
The sauce was incredible and balanced very nicely with the sesame crusting. I could not find Shiso leaves so I substituted basil leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Fabulous! We love this dish! Soooo good! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Fabulous! Mine was too salty, but probably due to user error rather than bad recipe portioning. That said, taste as you go (always a good bit of advice for cooks, I guess).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States