Sesame Crusted Mahi Mahi with Soy Shiso Ginger Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Amazing! This is one of the best fish dishes I have made. The sauce was labor intensive, but can be made in advance and just warmed on the stove. My sauce was a little too thin, so next time I will have to reduce more or add a thickener. But the flavor was fantastic. I used basil instead of shiso, but next time will just omit it and add more wasabi as per another poster's suggestion (I only added a tiny bit, next time will add at least a tsp). Don't skimp on the ginger in the sauce either. We liked it so much, we're making it again with tuna tomorrow. Serve with steamed green beans sauteed with yellow bell pepper and toasted sesame seeds. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
My picky boyfriend loved it!!! To make it a little lighter, I omitted the heavy cream and only used about 1/4 of butter called for. It was still really good with wonderful flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This is a great recipe. It is fairly easy, and turns out fantastic, literally something you would get in a nice restaurant. The ginger butter sauce was also a perfect complement to the light flavored fish. This is definitely a dish we will be making regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Made this with orange roughy, and my parents really seemed to like it. I thought that the sauce was really lemony (even with only 1/2 of a large lemon) and way too salty (and I did not add the extra kosher salt), but they thought it was a lovely complement to the fish. I thought it was quite a bt of work - I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
it was rather bland, i didn't make the ginger butter sauce but i dipped it in teriaki
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Absolutely delicious! Though I couldn't find the shiso, I decided to use basil, and it really fit well with the recipe. I've cooked it for 3 people and then for 6, I've always gotten rave reviews!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Absolutely delicious. Sauce is also great on Ahi tuna and - you wouldn't believe it - pork tenderloin! You may also try adding a 1 tsp wasabi paste to the sauce into the blender and use less soy sauce (we try to use less salt in our food).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
If there were more stars offered, this recipe would get them. It is FANTASTIC! The sauce is out of this world good! I didn't use mahi mahi becuase it wasn't fresh, so I used orange roughy. I too was unable to find shiso leaves. I served the fish on a bed of jasmine rice (Allrecipe.com recipe) for a dinner party and everyone raved about it. This is my new favorite fish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Amazing! I made this for a dinner party last night. This morning, the emails are flying around about how amazing it was. The friends who were unable to attend last nights dinner party are begging for a repeat. The friend that did attend last nights dinner party are begging to be invited to the repeat. I was unable to find the shiso leaves, but as others did, I substitued fresh basil and mint. I used halibut as opposed to Mahi-mahi. It was cooked to a nice medium-rare to medium and was melt in your mouth good. I served this with Miso soup, sticky rice, and sauted green beans. Thank you for the recipe... My friends now think that I'm a much better cook than I really am! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Stellar. I did not have shiso, so I substituted four large fresh basil leaves and a few mint leaves. Also olive oil rather than canola oil. Probably the best fish dish I have prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States