Sesame Crusted Mahi Mahi with Soy Shiso Ginger Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Wow. Delicious! Even my picky 5 yr old asked for thirds but there was no more. I couldn't bring myself to use all the butter so used about 1/3 c. Did not have shiso. Mahi is such a nice, firm fish so I finished it on the grill instead of the oven. Superb. Oh, one more thing...it took me more like 30 min prep- the sauce just takes a some time to complete. It could be done ahead- the actual cook time is quick. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Made this last night using the following changes only because of ingredients I did not have. -Used sesame crunch topper from an epiqure party that I attended. -Did not have the shiso -Used salted butter -Used powdered ginger -did not put sauce in blender(it is broken) -Put a little hoisin sauce on the baking sheet.(just for fun) This was wonderful, I will seek out the proper ingredients next time but I will cook it this way again for sure. Except I have to find out who sells that sesame chrunch topper, I used it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dryden, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Delicious~ very rich. We forgot to add the shiso but it still turned out great. I think there was too much sauce and sesame seeds. Maybe half the amount is perfect? Overall, it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
First, I'm not a fish lover. I do these because it's what the family wants. But this was simple, fast and looked ok. The down side is, the mahi mahi was expensive. This whole meal must have reached $30.00 for just the fish. The sauce was good to me but the family raved about it. It's fun to try the something different and this is one of those. I'll pass on the next round but given everyone else's opinon of it, I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I was literally drooling when I read this recipe, but I was a little disappointed with the end result. The sauce was too sour for my taste and needed a little more Eastern flavor. Next time, I will omit the lemon juice and add sesame oil to the sauce. Thanks for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I was quite disappointed. The amount of lemon juice was apparently crucial. "1 lemon juiced" is rather vague... My 1 lemon was large and juicy. I used half of it which overwhelmed all other flavors. I tried adding extra cream and 2 more teaspoons of ginger to no avail. I strongly suggest easing into the lemon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I adore this unusual Asian-French fusion type recipe and have made it with both mahi mahi and halibut. (The halibut was better, but the magic sauce makes it pretty delicious no matter what.) I like to sprinkle my black and white sesame seeds in rows on the plate, so the fish comes out striped. It looks badass! Next time I'm gonna try a heart or some other shape. Great for guests because it's easy but looks (and tastes) gourmet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
We love this dish! Even if I don't get around to making the sauce, this is an awesome way to prepare mahi. A little ginger mayo or horseradish on the side and the fish texture is just perfect. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This is a 5-star recipe through and through...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I thought this was fabulous! I made it as described in the recipe, but did not have the shiso so I just omitted it. Seriously. Really, really good. Thanks for the recipe, I am adding it to my permanent files!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States