Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This was my first asian dish made from scratch. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I believe this recipe might have too many sour things in it as it came out very sour when I made it. If I tried it again I might not add all the lemon juice or wine and maybe add a bit of sugar. Color wise it was also very uniform. Perhaps add some red bell peppers like in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
The marinade tasted horrible so I just stopped there. Did this happen to anyone else?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This was very disappointing. I doubled the sauce ingredients, which I'd recommend to anyone making this recipe so that the sauce can be used on rice too. The sauce was dull overall and the only ingredient I tasted was the ginger, and I used less than I called for. My boyfriend didn't like this either. We agreed that for the time and effort and number of ingredients, we should've just ordered the sesame chicken from the take-out place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed this. My two young girls weren't crazy about it but still ate it. I left out the hot pepper sauce and didn't have rice wine so I substituted red wine vinegar. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Pretty good. Not anything like what I get at the resturants, but had a good flavor. I used canned diced green chilies instead of bell pepper, added more garlic and ginger, used red wine vinegar instead of rice wine, and added more soy sauce. I think the recipe would be much better if the marinade was doubled. Definantly adding to rotation! Thanks! Oh, and DO NOT use oil to toast the seeds. If you don't feel comfortable with dry frying the seeds, buy pre-toasted sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Not a bad dish at all, just kind of average and forgettable. I will give it that it calls for just good, fresh ingredients, so you're doing yourself a favor by choosing and eating this dish, particularly if you can avoid the rice you'd expect to accompany it. For extra color I used a medley of sweet mini peppers and, because I had them to use, a mix of exotic mushrooms. This needed a boost of something, not the least of which was just salt (or more soy sauce) to heighten flavors, and after I added it, it DID help. In all fairness, I do admit to skipping the ginger because I don't care for it, but I don't think you can make or break this dish on that basis alone. What I like most about this is that there's just no guilt or remorse after eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This was a nice light chinese chicken dish...I don't think it represents traditional sesame chicken as much, but its a nice dish all in all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
My husband made this recipe for us last night and he is not a cook. It was delicious! We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
My husband hates sesame seeds, so that was the only ingredient I left out. I wasn't sure what "rice wine" was and couldn't find it in the store. I googled it and figured it was some kind of Sake. The store I was at only had one kind of Sake in the wine section and thats what I went with. I used low sodium soy sauce. I ened up having to add a little more rice wine and soy at the end to add a little more "sauce" to the dish. I served with brown rice and beef dumplings (from this site) and everyone including my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Scillo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States