Sesame Chicken Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pizzacake
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I'm giving 4 stars because top of recipe says 20 minute prep, 10 min cook and ready in 30. I put this together exactly as written (used rotisserie chicken) thinking it was a warm salad. I purchased all the ingredients today and I wouldn't call it inexpensive. When I realized it needed 6 hours refrigeration it was too late. Served it warm and my 16 year old loved it. He said it was like Noodles & Co., a favorite of ours. Next time I will probably add a generous dash of ginger and garlic to the dressing. My husband and I are looking forward to the cold version tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pizzacake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dobie Lover
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Wonderful flavor. I also added grated ginger, which I though I had seen in the recipe earlier but when I looked at it on my app it was gone. I as well, added snap peas and mini chopped sweet bell peppers and doubled the chicken. The recipe in the end had alot of liquid so next time I will cut back to not have so much, but it could be used as a marinade after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dobie Lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
very tasty. I used a combo of baby kale and baby arugula instead of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
It was the best salad on a hot day. Whenever we have leftover chicken I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Not our favorite. Husband liked it a lot. Kids did not. I added mandarin oranges to appeal to our children, but there was a weird after-taste and the vinegar content was too strong. It needed more color and probably needed to have the chicken cooked in the marinade/dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Great flavor but just too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I cut the oil in half, added about a teaspoon of sesame oil and, just to lighten up the pasta salad a bit more, I used agave sweetener instead of regular sugar . I also added cubed cucumber, grape tomatoes (cut in half) and cooked shrimps. The salad came out delicious and so simple to make! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny2G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I gave the original recipe as written 3 stars; but 4 stars with adjustments and additions I made to “jazz” up the salad. I boiled tri-colored rotini pasta in salted water. Chopped up some leftover rotisserie chicken and set aside. For the dressing, I used 3T low-sodium soy sauce, 2T sugar and 3T white wine vinegar. I seasoned the dressing with Hawaiian sea salt, black pepper and some fresh grated ginger. I also put about 1T of toasted sesame seeds to the dressing. Instead of veg/canola oil I used 2 T of sesame oil for flavor; and, fresh cilantro in place of parsley for another layer of flavor. Once I drained the pasta, I poured half of the dressing over it and chilled in the refrigerator for 4 hours. I tossed in fresh baby spinach, chicken and the remainder of the dressing. This needed some color and texture so I added sugar snap peas, carrots, julienned, and cherry tomatoes, quartered. I garnished with green onions, sliced, more cilantro and a generous sprinkle of sesame seeds. This was the most delicious and hearty pasta salad-perfect for a hot summer meal! The dressing has the right amount of soy sauce, sugar and vinegar-not too sweet or too tart. The pasta soaked up the dressing giving it lots of flavor. It’s a very colorful salad full of chicken, greens, vegetables and fresh herbs. The addition of cilantro, ginger and sesame oil gave this the “Asian” flavor I wanted in the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
There are other versions of this salad that feature more seasonings and less acid that I've enjoyed more on this site. This isn't bad by any means, no one will dislike it if they like these flavors. Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly as written and did not care for the result. The soy sauce dressing turned the chicken and pasta brown and just looked unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad

A pasta salad with chicken, sesame dressing, and fresh herbs.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States