Sesame Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This dish is very good, and with a few tweaks is even better. I used red and yellow peppers to add a little colour. Before adding the broccoli, I sauteed a little minced garlic in the oil. After the vegetables had sauteed a little, I added a couple of tablespoons of water and covered the pan to let the veggies steam until they reached the desired tender crisp stage. A splash of soy sauce and toasted sesame seeds finished the dish. This was very well received at Easter dinner, even by those who usually reject all things green. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
A simple way to enjoy broccoli and peppers. I don't agree with reviewers who said it was bland: sesame oil gives a nice nutty taste to this dish! Sometimes, you just have to enjoy the simple taste of veggies..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
Very tasty and quick to make! I used light sesame oil, added 2 cloves of garlic and 1 tablespoon reduced-sodium soy sauce for added flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I don't get it. Since this recipe called for no seasoning, not even salt and pepper, I knew it would need something to liven it up. But even after adding onion, fresh garlic, salt, pepper, soy sauce and a dribble of toasted sesame seed oil, this was still, as my husband aptly described it, "nondescript."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
This is a good recipe, but since broccoli is normally a pretty bland tasting veggie, I made one big change. I used "Hot" sesame oil. I used a wok and doubled the amount of oil and cooking times. The result was quite "invigerating". However, if you prefer "mild" salsa, etc, this is not for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
This is my all time favorite way to eat broccoli now! I omitted the green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2001
This meal was quick to make, but didn't offer much for flavor. I'm sure some soy sauce or other spices would help it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Quick & tasty. Like others, I added garlic and soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
At first taste, I thought they were pretty bland. (But I wasn't that surprised. Afterall, there are no spices). However, I let them saute an extra min once I added a couple splashes of soy sauce (as others suggested) and the taste was much better. Went well with our baked bird and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is awesome!! Didn't change anything, and my husband that only eats broccoli his way loved it. Will definatley make again!! Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by syaskiewicz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cashiers, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States