Sesame Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was not that great. Will not make again - sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
A wonderful way to liven up broccoli! If you like sesame flavors as I do this will please your palate. I put the broccoli crowns in boiling water, for 2 minutes, then set it aside. I toasted the sesame seeds in a pan over medium heat. I made the marinade and cut back slightly on the amount of white sugar to 1 tsp. I added freshly ground black pepper to the vinegar, sesame oil, soy sauce and threw everything over the broccoli to marry all day in the refrigerator. The broccoli soaked up the sauce and I really liked the slight crunch of the broccoli with the hint of sesame flavors throughout each bite. The slight tang from the vinegar was nicely balanced out with the white sugar. I am glad I did not add the full 2 tsp of sugar otherwise it would have been too sweet for me. This marinade can esily be adjusted and it is easy to put together. I served this alongside Betsy's Mandarin Orange Salad and Asian Grilled Chicken, also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I just toasted the sesame seeds on the stove top in a pan. Works just as well. Instead of broccoli I used a coleslaw salad bag and added cut up cucumbers and radishes. Very successful results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This is really good and a nice way to spruce up regular 'ol broccoli. I toasted my sesame seeds in a skillet vs. heating up my oven - a lot easier. I also used a steam in bag of broccoli to save time. I cut back the sesame oil to one Tbsp. and used low sodium soy sauce. I added some cracked black pepper and let this set for a couple of hours. I served this at room temperature and overall, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Decent, but I'm not sure I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was quick and easy. Next time I will leave the sugar out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This is a nice side dish for picnics but be careful not to put the dressing on too early. It turns out too soggy if you do. Otherwise, it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was just what I was looking for; a broccoli salad that didn't use mayo or Miracle Whip, etc. I didn't cook the broccoli; I mixed the ingredients the night before and left in the fridge overnight. It made a perfect light salad at work. Not outstanding- I wouldn't make it for guests or anything, but fine for just myself. I toasted the seeds quickly in my toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
boring. added some chili garlic paste to spice it up. it was a little better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I really didn't like the sauce with the broccolli. I actually tried to rinse it out, but the aftertaste remained. I wish I had just eaten the broccoli plain! I think the sauce would go better with some cold noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States