Sesame Beef Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I don't really eat sauces, but I wanted to learn how to broil a steak. The meat itself was very good & flavorful. I left out the Teriyaki step. Next time I will just use Canola Oil, Sesame Oil to me just smells/tastes funny. It's a super quick, easy way to get a meat done. It would have been really good eaten as a steak salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
These were tasty. I used london broil and marinated for 2 hours. I would recommend a longer marinating time than that as the flavor did not penetrate the meat as much as I would have liked. I think 4 hours would do the trick well. I also had more than 1lb of meat so I doubled the marinade as well as the garlic and garlic chili sauce since we like things hot. I only added about 2 tsp of sesame oil since I don't LOVE it and it can quickly overpower the flavor of a recipe but that is certainly personal taste. I broiled mine for about 5 mins on each side and also cut some larger than others as I like my beef "mooing" off my plate. I would certainly say to toast the sesame seeds before garnishing as it adds a wonderful flavor. Also as a side note dont forget to let the meat rest for a few minutes before you go poking em with toothpicks (I didn't use toothpicks in mine) to let the juices settle a bit otherwise they are gonna run all over the plate instead of staying in the meat like they need to. All in all a good solid recipe they will make a great appy or a great meat for dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
These are yummy! I used sirloin (because tenderloin is pretty expensive here) and it came out good. I marinated for about 2½ hours and the flavour was noticeable - next time I will marinate longer. Made my own teriyaki sauce and ended up putting the finished bites into a saucepan with the teriyaki (because I wanted the sauce to stick more.) Added a bit of cornstarch to thicken it up - Worked perfectly! Must have taken a few minutes to do. I didn't serve it as an appetizer, but instead served this over vegetable lo mien which I stir fried in some teriyaki sauce to compliment the bites. It was great! Yummy! I will definitely make this again - just as an appetizer or to serve with another dish. Great both ways. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I couldn't see any reason to use tenderloin in this recipe. I used a boneless chuck steak cut into 1" cubes but any flavorful cut of beef would work. I ended up marinating it for 24 hours because something came up and I couldn't cook it when planned. It had no ill effect. We are not teriyaki fans, so I made double the amount of the marinade and heated it while the meat cooked. I poured that over and sprinkled with toasted sesame seeds. I also served this as a main course over wide egg noodles cooked with fresh spinach. The plate looked good and tasted good. We will have this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was really good- I followed the recipe all the way, except I used sirloin instead of tenderloin due to the price- I also took the advice to marinate it for about 4 hours in the fridge. It was delicious! I served up some stir-fried fresh green beans with mine- this was so easy to make, I will make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I used meat labeled London Broil (=flank, I think), marinated for 12 hrs. The marinade's flavor did penetrate throughout. I tasted the broiled meat before adding the teriyaki. Tender enough, but I wanted something else in the flavor.... Once the teriyaki was added, its sweet taste overpowered most of the beef's taste. I think broiling the meat again in the last minute with only some of the teriyaki would be better, making it a sticky glaze, but not so drippy sweet. Either way, do keep an eye on the broiling, in case the juice/meat catches fire. (Mine did catch on fire. No problem: I pulled the sheet out of the oven for a few seconds until the fire went out. Maybe prevent that by having the rack actually 6" away from flame - instead of only 3-1/2" away like I'd done!) This was served as an appetizer. It was alright, but I would've preferred it over rice & vegetables. The sesame seeds & green onions added great flavor & visual appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This recipe received mixed reviews from my very picky family...some loved it, and some hated it. Because beef tenderloin is SO expensive, I used some rib eye steak from the freezer. Rib eye is not quite as expensive as tenderloin, but it is still an excellent cut! I had two pounds of meat, so I doubled the marinade, but only used 1/3 cup of teriyaki sauce later on. I also used fresh chives from my garden instead of green onion. Because of my picky family, who hates anything remotely spicy, I skipped the chile garlic sauce. I marinated the beef for 2 hours before I broiled it. After the beef was cooked through, I transferred everything to a large skillet, and brought the liquid to a boil. I whisked about a teaspoon of cornstarch into the 1/3 cup of teriyaki sauce that I used, poured this into the skillet, and brought it back to a boil. This way, the juices adhered to the beef, and locked in all that flavor. This beef does offer a beautiful presentation...I put rice into the bowls, topped it off with some of the beef, sprinkled it with sesame seeds and chopped fresh chives, and served with Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry from this site...it was the perfect accompaniment! Thanks for sharing this recipe...it is very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I used skirt steak,marinated it and grilled the steak for dinner. Lots and lots of flavor!! Easy Peasy and it reminded me of my beef jerky just not as dry:) I will make this again! Thank you very much for sharing a part of you Kerri:) Very Nice! Patty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I used a chuck tender steak for this, marinated it for about 5 hours and then broiled. My husband loved the flavor of this and the kids really liked it. I thought that it was a little to salty but that is just me. I am very glad that I served it with some fried rice because it helped cut down on the saltiness of the dish. I would not want to eat this by itself. But it could be the brands that I used for the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
We liked this recipe but I did it a bit differently. I used a cheaper cut of steak but still marinated it for the same amount of time. Instead of cubing the meat I thinly sliced it and then after marinating it I cooked it over high heat on the stovetop like a stir fry. Leftovers were excellent also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States