Sesame Beef Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Very delicious! I used sirloin and marinaded for about 4 hours. Turned out very tender with lots of flavour. We had as a main course and served it over brown rice with a side of stir-fried veggies. As suggested by other reviewers, make sure you don't forget the sesame seeds. They really add to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Better than expected. With so many different flavors, I wasn't sure how this was going to turn out. I was pleasantly surprised! Just enough flavor to satisfy but didn't overpower the wonderful flavor of the tenderloin. Served it over "Quick Chinese-Style Vermicelli" and beside "Chinese Green Bean Stir-Fry", both from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLCKANGL00

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Very good! I marinated for about 2 hours and I think I will do it longer next time. I liked the flavors together. The teriyaki sauce was a nice touch. We served it over white rice. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
We liked this recipe but I did it a bit differently. I used a cheaper cut of steak but still marinated it for the same amount of time. Instead of cubing the meat I thinly sliced it and then after marinating it I cooked it over high heat on the stovetop like a stir fry. Leftovers were excellent also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I used a chuck tender steak for this, marinated it for about 5 hours and then broiled. My husband loved the flavor of this and the kids really liked it. I thought that it was a little to salty but that is just me. I am very glad that I served it with some fried rice because it helped cut down on the saltiness of the dish. I would not want to eat this by itself. But it could be the brands that I used for the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I used skirt steak,marinated it and grilled the steak for dinner. Lots and lots of flavor!! Easy Peasy and it reminded me of my beef jerky just not as dry:) I will make this again! Thank you very much for sharing a part of you Kerri:) Very Nice! Patty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This recipe received mixed reviews from my very picky family...some loved it, and some hated it. Because beef tenderloin is SO expensive, I used some rib eye steak from the freezer. Rib eye is not quite as expensive as tenderloin, but it is still an excellent cut! I had two pounds of meat, so I doubled the marinade, but only used 1/3 cup of teriyaki sauce later on. I also used fresh chives from my garden instead of green onion. Because of my picky family, who hates anything remotely spicy, I skipped the chile garlic sauce. I marinated the beef for 2 hours before I broiled it. After the beef was cooked through, I transferred everything to a large skillet, and brought the liquid to a boil. I whisked about a teaspoon of cornstarch into the 1/3 cup of teriyaki sauce that I used, poured this into the skillet, and brought it back to a boil. This way, the juices adhered to the beef, and locked in all that flavor. This beef does offer a beautiful presentation...I put rice into the bowls, topped it off with some of the beef, sprinkled it with sesame seeds and chopped fresh chives, and served with Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry from this site...it was the perfect accompaniment! Thanks for sharing this recipe...it is very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I used meat labeled London Broil (=flank, I think), marinated for 12 hrs. The marinade's flavor did penetrate throughout. I tasted the broiled meat before adding the teriyaki. Tender enough, but I wanted something else in the flavor.... Once the teriyaki was added, its sweet taste overpowered most of the beef's taste. I think broiling the meat again in the last minute with only some of the teriyaki would be better, making it a sticky glaze, but not so drippy sweet. Either way, do keep an eye on the broiling, in case the juice/meat catches fire. (Mine did catch on fire. No problem: I pulled the sheet out of the oven for a few seconds until the fire went out. Maybe prevent that by having the rack actually 6" away from flame - instead of only 3-1/2" away like I'd done!) This was served as an appetizer. It was alright, but I would've preferred it over rice & vegetables. The sesame seeds & green onions added great flavor & visual appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was really good- I followed the recipe all the way, except I used sirloin instead of tenderloin due to the price- I also took the advice to marinate it for about 4 hours in the fridge. It was delicious! I served up some stir-fried fresh green beans with mine- this was so easy to make, I will make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I couldn't see any reason to use tenderloin in this recipe. I used a boneless chuck steak cut into 1" cubes but any flavorful cut of beef would work. I ended up marinating it for 24 hours because something came up and I couldn't cook it when planned. It had no ill effect. We are not teriyaki fans, so I made double the amount of the marinade and heated it while the meat cooked. I poured that over and sprinkled with toasted sesame seeds. I also served this as a main course over wide egg noodles cooked with fresh spinach. The plate looked good and tasted good. We will have this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

RITZ Pastrami and Corned Beef Mini Sandwich

A snack-size version of the famous sandwich created by Carnegie Deli.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States