Sesame Asian Tofu Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
sure looked like a winner, but it had 2 major problems that made it not work. 6 tablespoons oil in the sauce made it greasy, and the sauce wasn't thick enough to stick to the foods. sorry, but i couldn't finish my serving, and for me, that says a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
The sauce in this recipe has great flavor, we made it last night. I have to agree with Jenny however, it definitely does not need 6 tablespoons of vegetable oil. We used three and it was plenty. We didn't have linguine pasta, so we used rice noodles. They work well. I made another batch of the sauce after as well and added peanut butter. Very good results. Thanks for the recipe. I will use it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I thought this was a great way to use tofu. I didn't have that much soy sauce so I subbed teriyaki!! I used the rooster hot sauce in place of the thai chili sauce and shredded cabbage in place of the bean sprouts ( the bean sprouts were super brown at the store and didn't look good at all). I didn't shred my carrots just super finely diced them. I really liked this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Not sure what Jenny did because we loved this. Next time we are going to add peanut flavor either with peanut butter or chopped peanuts or both. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilroy, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Good flavor, but very greasy. I tossed in defrosted stir fry veggies instead of those listed here, so it was very easy to make. I'm going to use the same basic ingredients (with the oil halved) and the instructions from a different recipe next time, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This is a good recipe. For people who are complaining that it's too greasy, you can certainly use less oil and it shouldn't be a problem. Also, if you have a problem with the sauce not sticking or being too thin, you can add a little COLD water to a little bit of corn or potato starch in a separate small ball until dissolved and add that right before you turn off the heat to thicken the sauce. You can also add arrowroot directly into the sauce to thicken the sauce before you finish cooking/turning off the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Loved it! Tweeked it a little with more sesame flavor. (both seeds and oil) Good basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
One of my favorites now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
We liked it. I followed the advice of other reviewers and cut the oil down to 3 tbs. in the sauce (I used peanut oil); also added chunky peanut butter. I used leeks instead of green onions, and added large shitake mushrooms (because I had them). Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This was very good easy to make and very tasty. Added a little more soya sauce & hot sauce when it was on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States