Sesame Asian Tofu Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Alright. Subtle flavor. I thought it was too sweet. I would also add more garlic and some crushed red chili for some kick. Great with Ramen noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My husband lets the tofu simmer in the sauce to make the tofu firmer & we put it over brown rice. We usually leave all the veggies out too. If anyone is a fan of szechuan tofu or sweet and sour tofu or anything sweet then you will like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Overall a great recipe. First off, I took the advise of other reviewers and did not use 6 tbsp of oil. Also, for the tofu, here's my suggestion from my "hippy" days as a vegetarian :)Take your tofu and wrap it up in paper towels or cheese cloth and place a pan (or anything heavy) on top. This will push out all the water. Leave it for about 30 minutes or so...it will shrink some. Get your rice vinegar/soy sauce/honey/chili sauce mixture ready. Then Soak the tofu in your mixture for another 30 minutes. I recommend this to give the tofu even more flavor! I couldn't find bean sprouts at the store so I used sliced mushrooms instead; I also added some spinach for some extra leafy-ness. I also used a TON of soy sauce and a bit of teriyaki sauce when I was cooking the veggies. I can't eat a lot of pasta (gastric bypass) so I left out the lingune on my plate and had mine with just tofu and veggies (my partner had the linguine in his and he LOVED IT!)Very delicious....we will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Great taste, so easy to put together! I agree, it doesn't need 6 Tbs of oil and while sauce was simmering, I added fresh ginger just because I love ginger and it's healthy. I just ate it without noodles. Next time I think I will just add more vegetables and have with a small amount of brown rice. Not much of a fan of noodles. Thanks for the recipe, it's one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
The flavor was "almost right"...but way too much liquid still wouldn't cook away. Everything was "swimming" in the sauce. This recipe needs altering. I followed the directions step by step. I made no changes until the end because it was NOT presentable. Good luck if you want to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Don't you just hate it when a reviewer takes a recipe and changes it and then reviews it anyway? Yeah, I did that. I steamed the tofu first. Tofu can carry bacteria just like meat. Who knows whether the people that helped package it used gloves? I just placed it in the top thing of my rice cooker while I steamed some brown rice for this. No honey. No noodles. Frozen stir fry veggies. I also thickened the sauce in the end with a tad bit of cornstarch in water. The sauce is YUMMY! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I just made this tonight and it was a hit. After reading the reviews, I used 4 tbs of vegetable oil instead of six and substituted peanut oil for sesame oil. The sauce was a bit thin, but I didn't mind that. Good recipe. Easy. (I'm a novice!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KadydaCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
We liked it. I followed the advice of other reviewers and cut the oil down to 3 tbs. in the sauce (I used peanut oil); also added chunky peanut butter. I used leeks instead of green onions, and added large shitake mushrooms (because I had them). Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This is a good recipe. For people who are complaining that it's too greasy, you can certainly use less oil and it shouldn't be a problem. Also, if you have a problem with the sauce not sticking or being too thin, you can add a little COLD water to a little bit of corn or potato starch in a separate small ball until dissolved and add that right before you turn off the heat to thicken the sauce. You can also add arrowroot directly into the sauce to thicken the sauce before you finish cooking/turning off the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This was very good easy to make and very tasty. Added a little more soya sauce & hot sauce when it was on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States