Sesame Anise Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
When I first read the ingredients I was not too impressed. So I made the first batch to "test" the flavor and WOW was I surprized at how delicious these little cookies were! This is a winner in my book and my short-lived scepticism has now gone south for the winter! I found that I had a lot of sesame seeds left over so I made another batch...after all, I had a big ole fat box of LARD taking up space in my kitchen. I browned the sesame seeds slowly in a large skillet using a small amount of butter and stiring with a wooden spoon. These will now join the rank and file of traditional Christmas cookies I make every year. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe Candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAHA DIMO HAZOU
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This recipe is excellent. It combined my love for anise and sesame together. I added one teaspoon and a half of anise extract and also made round flat cookies instead of balls. I have shared this recipe with countless friends and relatives. Thanks you Candy for sharing this recipe with us. I would like to add that I have given this recipe to at least 20 people. This recipe is to die for and the name of it should be changed to Sesame Anise Cookies so more people can find it and enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
this cookie is a family favorite , we brown a little the sesame seeds first, be careful not to over bake. great with coffee. this has been past down threw the generations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
These cookies are great! Very crispy and flavorful! I used shortening instead of lard and they were still terrific
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HeidiLS
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
A wonderfully simple cookie with big flavor. Without any other flavors to compete with, the sesame and anise both come through boldly. The only change I made to the recipe was substituting vegetable shortening for the lard. If you're a fan of sesame and anise, these will be a treat for you! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I loved the flavor of these; such a nice simple cookie that can stand by itself with the wonderful flavor of anise and sesame. I too used butter flavor crisco. Only change was to add a tsp of vanilla. Used my coffee grinder to grind the anise seed and used a heaping tablespoon. I didn't bother toasting the sesame seeds since they would be toasted while baking. the bursts of flavor from the anise seed and the sesame was wonderful. this is not a sweet rich cookie but a beautiful potpourri of anise and sesame. ty for this darling cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I didn't like the flavor of these AT ALL - however, in all fairness, a couple of people at my work did like them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
Except for the anise flavor, these cookies were dry and tasteless. Even my husband, who loves anise and sesame, refused to eat these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States