Serious Herb Cheese Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This is not your average cream cheese spread; this is something special indeed! I used slightly less then 1/4 cup of each herb and an extra garlic clove, and it was perfect. I tasted it before adding the lemon juice and I have to say that the lemon really brightened the flavor. I used kalamata olives and was glad that I didn’t use canned black olives. This spread will become one of our staples when we have an all appetizer gathering. Finding this recipe felt a little like winning the lottery! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
OMG! I made this for my boyfriends Art Gallery reception and people were begging me for this recipe! Very tasty...The only thing I changed was I used lite Cream cheese and I rosted some garlic cloves threw those in rather then minced garlic. Thank you for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I doubled this recipe for a New Year's party. Using 4 Tbsp. of lemon juice was a big mistake! Too lemon-y. Ugh. But okay on a Wheat Thin. I can't comment on the original recipe, but I will NOT be using that much juice again (only 1 Tbsp. for the normal serving size). Other than that, everyone seemed to enjoy the cheese ball. I would make this again. I also think it's easy to adjust by adding some different herbs. Overall, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This is really good-let this sit in the fridge a while before serving so the flavors can blend properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Great flsvour.... I used 1 large clove of garlic and 1 tsp lemon & dill seasoning and being the winter time I used all dry ingredients 1 tsp of each and it was absolutely wonderful. I will definately make this again and in the summer I will try fresh herbs... thanks for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ayr, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Pretty good stuff. I don't like olives so left that out. I made only part of the recipe just for me to try it out, used on Club crackers. This is very easy to make, which is a real plus, especially if making for a gathering to keep the work load down. I do have to add, though, that trying to put it in a mold seemed like a terrible idea because it's just too sticky. Won't be trying that again... just make a ball or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I couldn't understand what I was doing wrong with this when the softened cream cheese was so difficult to combine with the other ingredients. So, I added a little milk and beat it with an electric mixer. That was a bad idea. As it sits in the fridge it somehow comes together and softens. Our friends loved the flavor, but I thought it was too runny, so next time I'll stick to the original recipe. I think I might try whipped cream creese too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Excellent recipe - I made it for our company christmas party and could have quadrupled the recipe instead of just doubling it. Even my boss' wife asked for the recipe! I used Gulden's mustard for the "prepared mustard" and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Serious dill would be more like it. This recipe was good but I think it will be on my reserve for summer list. It was cool and fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I love this recipe. Had lots of herbs leftover from other dishes so I tried it out. The garlic, wooster and mustard add tremendous flavor! I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States