Serbian Pork and Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by HongKongCV
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Cooked this last night, and though it tasted surprisingly good for so few spices, there were problems. As a note, definitely use two onions... I used only one (two seemed a lot) and the dish could use the second onion. The rice was al dente... crunchy in spots. Next time I will put foil on it at least for the first 30 minutes or so to help the rice cook... it took the full 45 minutes to cook as it was. Also, the recipe would not fit in my 2-quart casserole dish... you'll need at least a 3-quart. I ended up making it in a 9x11 baking dish. Finally, though the recipe was tasty enough, it lacked any distinctive zing that would have made it "I-want-that-again-soon" tasty. Next time I will add a second can of sauerkraut, and substitute a cup of red wine, soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, or even Dale's steak seasoning sauce for 1-cup of the chicken broth. This is a good, tasty, comfort-food casserole just waiting to be kicked up a notch. I'll keep working on it, because I think it has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HongKongCV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I just made this and it is wonderful! My husband has been wanting me to make a sauerkraut casserole so I thought I would give this a whirl. It is a keeper! #1 - it makes a huge batch. I had the ingredients out to make a second batch but this is more than enough to serve 2 small families. I used a 2 qt casserole but could easily have used a 3 qt #2 I used the fresh kraut and put the whole bag and juices in - no need to add any water this way. #3 I picked up smoked hocks and could not figure out how to get any "meat" out of them so just threw them in with everything when I was cooking it in the pan and just laid them on top when cooking it in the oven. Maybe some of the flavor got into the casserole. I don't know and I am not sure they need to be in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Being unfamiliar with Serbian food, I can't claim that this is "authentic." Tasty, though, it is! It has very interesting flavors, and my teenage boys have requested that I make it again some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I followed the recipe and I just found it to be rather bland, though I'm also not big on casseroles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I didn't have pork hocks or chops so made it with ground beef and a little more bacon than the recipe called for. I was a bit unsure of what to expect from this recipe although all the other reviews were good. It is a fantastic dish! I was surprised how flavorful it is with very little seasoning. I guess the bacon and saurkraut gives it all it needs. My husband loved this and had three servings! It made a great leftover for lunch. Thanks for sharing this interesting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I used a ground veal/beef/pork packet I got on sale. I also did the stovetop method, browned the rice and added 1 tsp. ground fennel, 1/4 tsp. dill seed and about 1/2 tbsp. paprika and was generous with the pepper. Adding this to my winter repertoire...it's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Gratiot, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Mmm! This is so good! I did everything exactly as written and cooked it for 35 mins! Thanks! SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I really like beef, pork, sauerkraut, and rice, and I also enjoy trying new recipes. My expectations were modest, mostly due to the lack of seasonings in this casserole (which, according to Wikipedia, is typical for Serbian cooking). But wow. This casserole is amazing! The ingredients themselves provide ample flavor. The only changes I made were cooking it entirely on the stovetop instead of baking it, using a pork chop instead of pork hocks, and using a good-quality chicken stock instead of broth. I'll definitely make this again--in fact, I'm going to get up and do that right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Thank you for posting this! I made it for my family of 5 and all loved it. Cooked it exactly as listed here - oh, sorry, a little lie there - I chopped up 2 pork chops instead of the meat from the hocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Awesome! I slow cooked only one hock in the chicken broth, then used the chopped hock meat and then followed the directions exactly. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States