Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This dish is perfect on a fall evening. Regardless of your native palate this is a classic comfort food, an exotic yet familiar menagerie of spices that leaves your soul satisfied. I recommend doubling the spices, adding garlic powder. Adding 1/4 tsp each of cinnamon and cloves really kicks up the exotic factor. adding the meat back in with the veggies toss in a couple TB of flour, as it will thicken the juices and keep the meat tender while it bakes uncovered
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Flavors were okay, but it needed more liquid, perhaps a simple gravy type texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I love this meal, so does my family. I made it two weeks in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This was great, was looking for something to do with some ground beef I had and tried this out. As someone said- don't leave out the pinches of cloves and cinnamon. I'm not a big fan of sweet type spices in my meat, but it adds a lot to this recipe, and the pepper flakes I went a hair heavy on and it complements the spice it added. As other commenters suggested, I did three layers of potatoes and spiced the potatoes, I added salt/pepper/garlic powder/paprika to them. I didn't expect much and was very pleasantly surprised by this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This had amazing flavor. Easy to make also (I enjoy chopped vegetables). My hubby said it was fantastic, the best thing I'd ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This dish looked simple, and I wasn't expecting it would be very spectacular, but the flavors are amazing! Leftovers went very fast and the family requested that I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I changed it around a bit by substituting mushrooms in for green peppers, sweet potatoes in for regular potatoes and Tony Chachere's in for Paprika because, let's be honest, you could put that stuff on anything. It was very good but I think, if you substituted mashed potatoes in for sliced potatoes, it would make a killer shepherd's pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Yum! Comfort food! Added a touch of shredded cheddar cheese to the top. It was exactly what I was looking for in a simple but pleasing to the taste buds recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I followed this recipe somewhat with the exception of not adding the crushed red pepper and reduced the paprika by half. I didn't have red wine so I used cranberry juice instead. My husband is very picky and so is my 4 year old. This was delicious!The flavor is so tasty! I am definately making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
It's hard to find a new recipe that works well with my son's food allergies as he is sensitive to many spices as well as egg, soy, and possibly dairy. I put an additional layer of potatoes in the middle as recommended, and dropped out the half and half (due to the allergies). It was really good! Everyone in the family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States