Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
A family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grambo_0524

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This dish was fantastic. My family loved it, especially hubby. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect and it made my house smell wonderful too! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Dimas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I doubled the recipe and followed others advice to include diced potatoes in the meat mixture as well. We all liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
It was amazing!!!The only thing was that prep time for me was about 45 min. But other than that it was easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Bowman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Really quick, easy and tasty meal to prepare. Even our two year old grandson liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Very good and satisfying. It's a different version of the traditional Shepard 's pie. I made some brown rice to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My family and I enjoyed this main dish but it didn't have that "Wow!" factor to warrant a 5 star rating. My husband would agree with other reviews that there should be more potatoes added to the dish. He was also of the opinion that this could be made entirely in the covered frying pan rather than baking to save some time/energy -- I followed the recipe and was happy with those results. I used just a "pinch" of both ground cinnamon and cloves which seemed to be about the right amount for my family (who aren't really keen on these flavours in meats or main dish sauces). So, I would not be inclined to increase the quantity of cloves, as suggested by some reviewers. Still, a great combination of flavours and a well rounded main dish. Great recipe for an experiment based on verbal descriptions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Major substitutions here since I didn't have many of the ingredients on hand but I wanted to try out the flavors. My husband really liked this recipe (as modified), the kids were "meh". Like other reviewers, it seemed like it was short on potatoes so I used enough potatoes to make 3 layers - a bottom, middle and top layer. I also cooked the potatoes in the microwave before layering them so the oven part was really to melt the cheese. Oh yeah, I added a bit of shredded cheddar cheese on top hoping that it could assuage any complaints. I left out the celery and bouillon since I just didn't have these. I made the following substitutions with success: - ground turkey in place of beef - vegetable stock in place of water - butter in place of half and half Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This is a nice change of pace. I used 3 russet potatoes and layered them, as another reviewer suggested, potato/meat mixture/potato/meat/potato. Then I topped the potato layer with about a Tbs of butter pats and Parmesan cheese. I also used the allspice as suggested. Quite good. And the 2 year old and 5 year old ate it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I am giving it 5 stars because the flavor was really great! It truly only feeds 4 people, though. Not a big issue I will just add more meat next time. I can see how some people had problems with the potatoes not being tasty. I seasoned every layer with s&p and paprika. I then dotted the potatoes with duck fat and cooked uncovered. The potatoes came out slightly crisp and oh so good! Oh and I took one reviewers idea and didn't remove the beef to cook the veg. I just undercooked the beef before putting all the veg in to cook. Easy peasy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANNASR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States