Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This had amazing flavor. Easy to make also (I enjoy chopped vegetables). My hubby said it was fantastic, the best thing I'd ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This dish looked simple, and I wasn't expecting it would be very spectacular, but the flavors are amazing! Leftovers went very fast and the family requested that I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I changed it around a bit by substituting mushrooms in for green peppers, sweet potatoes in for regular potatoes and Tony Chachere's in for Paprika because, let's be honest, you could put that stuff on anything. It was very good but I think, if you substituted mashed potatoes in for sliced potatoes, it would make a killer shepherd's pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Yum! Comfort food! Added a touch of shredded cheddar cheese to the top. It was exactly what I was looking for in a simple but pleasing to the taste buds recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I followed this recipe somewhat with the exception of not adding the crushed red pepper and reduced the paprika by half. I didn't have red wine so I used cranberry juice instead. My husband is very picky and so is my 4 year old. This was delicious!The flavor is so tasty! I am definately making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
It's hard to find a new recipe that works well with my son's food allergies as he is sensitive to many spices as well as egg, soy, and possibly dairy. I put an additional layer of potatoes in the middle as recommended, and dropped out the half and half (due to the allergies). It was really good! Everyone in the family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Flavorful tips: i cut the pepper down to a generous 1/4 tsp. If you do not have cloves, substitute with Allspice. I seasoned the meat with salt and pepper, browned and added the veggies to the dish (undrained meaning I skipped the oil). Do not overcook the veggies as you will be baking this dish. I added 3 cloves of garlic (minced). Add the seasonings as above. Skip the water (no flavor) and double the wine. Throw in bouillon. Skip the half and half and add 1/4 to 1/2 cup sour cream. Slice and season your potatoes with salt and pepper. Butter the bottom of the dish, layer with potatoes, add meat mixture, layer with more potatoes, add meat mixture, top with potatoes. Cover and bake 375 for 40-50 mins until potatoes tender. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Good comfort food. Followed recipe as shown. A new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
My family decided that this tasted more like a shepherds pie with cinnamon/clove flavours than moussaka. I followed other reviewers suggestions and made a middle layer of potatoes (4 pots in total) and chopped some fresh parsley to add on top of each potato layer. It was a little bland for us but we still enjoyed it. Thanks amanda1432
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Fantastic! I would not change this recipe either- use the extra large potatoes for more coverage on top of meat. Unlike other reviewers, I do not think you need an extra starch (maybe try a baguette?) but this is really good served with a salad. I used a basic vinaigrette and it complemented the spices well. This is a great way to shake up the weekly food routine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States