Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I just got finished making and eatting this dish. I changed a few things because I didn't have some of the ingredients. I used chicken broth instead of wine, I added cream of mushroom soup to the meat mixture and I didn't have cloves so I left it out. The meal was very tasty and u can definitely taste the cinnamon and red pepper, the only thing I didn't care for was how greasy it turned out but other then that it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I have made this several times and the results are quite good. I just add the veggies to the ground beef when frying. Once that is browned I add the other ingredients, including the potatoes, to the skillet to mix completely before pouring into the pan I intend to bake it in. The spices are just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Well the smell is 5 stars for sure but it's currently in the oven. I'm almost wanting to call my neighbor to come over and try it. I'm excited. I hope it tastes as good as it smells! I did forget the bell pepper but didn't have any anyways and same with the wine. I hope it doesn't make too much of a difference. I was just really wanting to cook something tonight with what I had since I don't get food stamps till tomorrow i was just itching to cook. I tasted a little bit before I threw it in the oven and it was really good. i added mushrooms and zuchinni as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crys10

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This a crowd-pleaser!! I followed some other reviews and included garlic, doubled the red wine, and put an extra layer of potatoes. I also make a VEGETARIAN version with 2 cans of drained garbanzo beans instead of the ground beef. I just sautee the veggies first, and add the beans after the veggies are cooked. I made the two versions for a party the other night, and the vegetarian one was VERY popular. Next time I will include a can of garbanzos into the meat version, too. Even the little kids at the party loved the casserole. We served it with rice and sour cream. One other minor change -- I used plain yogurt instead of half-and-half. But I think that could be left out if you wanted a lactose-free dish. If you make the vegetarian version, then you can have a lactose-free, gluten-free, and meat-free dinner that's super tasty!! Trust me, IF you have any leftovers, you won't have to throw them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I made this tonight and it was really good. It reminds me of Greek moussaka because of the cinnamon in the meat. I love that! It's a very flavorful, spicy, dish but I have to agree with others that it seems to be missing something, and what that something is I am just not sure. But I will make this again! I doubled the recipe but cut back on the black pepper and I forgot to put in the green pepper. Delicious, and my 4 and 3 year olds ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was excellent! I made it at home and it was so tasty that when visiting a friend, THIS is what I decided to make the very next day for her. I would never bring a new dish to a friend but I was very confident with how full of flavor this was. To give it an Arabic twist, I made my Middle Eastern yogurt to put on the side. Plain no fat yogurt, add diced seedless cucumbers, pinch of salt (enough to remove the sour of the yogurt), crushed dried mint, crushed/minced garlic (as strong as you like) Extra Virgin Olive Oil. This yogurt helped in making the dish not feel so heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by colinda
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
The meat and veggie filling is simply delicious. I added more wine (1/4 cup total instead of 1/8); omitted the celery (don't like the taste, and it's not really an Eastern European thing); added garlic to the ground beef while browning plus garlic to the veggies when cooking; used just a pinch of ground cloves. In other reviews people were saying that there is not enough starch as it is, so I made mashed potatoes and spread them on top of the meat/veggie filling. Stuck it in the oven for 20 min, and ended up with the most amazing Serbian take on a Shepherd's pie ever! Next time will try to make in the suggested way with potatoes sliced, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ufa, Bashkortostan Republic, Russia
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This is not bad, but I definitely think it's more than 4 servings--unless you've got huge eaters, like teenage boys! Despite all of the spices, I didn't really think this was all that flavorful. I topped the potatoes with paprika, and I doubled most of the spices (except the red pepper and salt and pepper) bc I used ground turkey, which is typically less flavorful than ground beef. I also added Montreal Steak seasoning, which typically packs a punch. Even with all that, though, I thought it was bland. I think I'd do a brown gravy next time instead of the half and half; I, too, didn't think it added any flavor or anything to the dish. I used 6 potatoes because I had small red potatoes and layered twice, which I liked, but I didn't quite have enough for a full top layer, so I'd use another potato or two next time. Overall, pretty decent dish--bf really liked it--but I think it could stand some changes to increase flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
My husband and I have been making this for years and this is the first I've rated it. I love this recipe EVERY time we have it. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trhjrh06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This recipe was fantastic!!! I made it for a small dinner party and it recieved rave reviews!! Next time I might add raisins!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Letohatchee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States