Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was exactly what I was looking for when I started tonight's dinner search. Something with hamburger and potatoes and a nice flavor. The kids loved it. I doubled the recipe and spiced it exactly as directed in a 13x9 pan. Changes I made were using milk instead of half/half, omitting green peppers and wine and adding a few cubed potatoes during the saute of the vegetables. All the leftovers were eaten the next day which is very rare in my home. The only odd thing about the dish was the bottom potatoes were seasoned because they absorbed what the meat did not. The top layer of potatoes were plain and white. But it made for a nice flavor abstract so it didnt all seem the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMANNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I've tried lots of new recipes lately without much success. Finally a winner....last night's Serbian Beef w/Veggies turned out great. Hubby loved it and suggested it for future potlucks. Picky teens loved it and even went back for seconds. Great option for ground beef with a tasty, unique flavor! I followed the recipe fairly closely, only omitting the cream since others said it mattered little and we don't usually add those extras anyway. I did dice up the celery really small so it would be more akin to the diced peppers & onions. Since I didn't have green pepper, I used 1/2 red and 1/2 yellow which was actually nice since the celery already contributed a green color. I also added minced garlic to the sauteed veggies, onion salt & garlic powder to the browning beef. The other spices I used as suggested except probably only about half the crushed red pepper (and the dish was spicy enough). I dissolved the boullion in the water before adding to the mix to make sure it wasn't still lumpy. I doubled the wine to make sure there'd be enough broth to keep the dish moist and cook the potatoes. As for the potatoes, I sliced 6 medium size red potatoes, with skin on, for the the top and bottom layers (1/2 each). I also peeled and cubed 2 medium size yams which I added to the beef & veggie mixtures. However, I sauteed/steamed them with the carrots for a bit before adding them since to make they'd be cooked enough. Baked 50 mins w/cover, 10 mins without. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
My family loved this! What a great alternative to shepherd's pie! I pretty much followed the recipe but added minced garlic (I add this to eveything) and left out the cloves. I used about a half tsp chili flakes instead of the crushed red pepper and it had a nice bite to it. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This was good, and easy to make with most ingredients already on hand. It didn't "wow" me, but I will likely make again. I didn't have crushed red pepper so I used a dash of cayenne. I liken it to a different take on traditional shepherds pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
My husband is on a low carb diet so we make this with ground turkey and skip the potatoes. I also use three tablespoons of greek yogurt instead of the half and half. The result is a low fat, low carb meal with lots of flavor! The mix of the spices is so unique. This is a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
The meat mixture is so nicely seasoned, it tasted great, however as a whole this dish was not a success for me. The potatoes needed seasoning and would have looked and tasted better if the top layer was browned towards the end of the cooking time. The casserole itself crumbled all over our plates, I think it needs something to bind it together but I'm not sure what...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
My husband and I really liked this. I omitted the oil as it was unnecessary with the ground beef juices. I increased the veggies by adding a sliced zucchini, 2 chopped tomatoes and about half a pound of sliced mushrooms; I don't know how authentic these additions are, but they were tasty. I slightly increased the seasoning to flavor the additional vegetables. I also used 3 small Yukon gold potatoes and left the skin on to retain nutrients, and included a middle potato layer. I used smoked paprika this time, but next time I think I'll try it with the regular variety. All the veggies made my version relatively low-calorie (especially for such generous servings), and even with all the potatoes it was still well within my diabetic husband's carb range. This was a nice use of ground beef that didn't involve my fall-back Mexican seasoning combos. I will definitely make it again, but I think I'll keep adding extra veg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
A Serbian friend came over to try this dish the first time I made it and told me I could substitute the potatoes with eggplant also! I'm going to try that next! All of the spices work wonderfully together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Good spice combination, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingerbreadgirlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
delicious nice and spicy would double up potatos i would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States