Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Loved it! So interesting and not your typical taste. Exotic and different- my only advice is to cut down the pepper. I followed the recipe without listening to other reviewers because I like to do that before make any changes and I can agree the pepper could be cut down. Delicious though and I couldn't wait to get home the following day to have the leftovers. ! doubled the recipe and made enough for 2 days for a family of 4 with a big appatite. Added another layer of potatoes in the middle as well as seasoned and browned them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This "Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake" is the perfect comfort food, and so easy to make! I learned from the Serbian reviewers that this dish: (a) is "Serbian Moussaka (Musaka)"; (b) is usually layered with more potatoes than what this recipe calls for (I added a middle layer); (c) typically made with VEGETA (a seasoned salt that tastes like parsley and carrots that I was able to get withoug MSG at my supermarket but did not use because I did not especially like it); and (d) may have parsley layered in with the potatoes (which I did). I substituted 1 tablespoon of tomato paste (total) for the ingredients that I wasn't using (red wine, half-and-half cream, and a cube of beef bouillon) to compensate for any loss of flavor. I will be making this again many, many more times. Thank you amanda1432 for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Just made this and it's very good. The only thing that I did different is that I drained the fat from the ground beef before adding the olive oil. Thought this would make the dish to greasy. I also did the three layers of potatoes as the other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Loved the recipe. Did add garlic powder, but, otherwise followed it exactly. Husband and son gave it 5 Stars, I would have to agree. Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wopper
Home Town: Wind Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Delicious mixture of flavor. Will be a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by molina411
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This dish is really great! My husband loves when I make it, which is usually every two weeks. I will say, I've tweaked it a bit though. First, I make sure to cut the potatoes thin so that they cook in the time allotted. Otherwise, like the first time I made this, they would take forEVER to cook. I also added a lot more spices, including garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne pepper, and a lebanese/middle eastern spice mixture called "7 spices" which is a exactly what it says: a blend of 7 different spices. I also don't measure. I just add a dash here and there and taste. If I feel I need more of a certain spice, I add more. In a separate bowl, I added salt, garlic powder, and paprika to the potatoes and mixed them with my hands to make sure the potatoes were all coated evenly, otherwise they'd be too bland. Last time I made this, I sprinkled a little parmesan cheese over each meat mixture and on the top potato layer and it was a great addition that I'll continue to always do now. Oh, and I don't add the half-n-half because I don't want the added fat, and it still tastes great. Also, I have three layers of the meat mixture and three of the potatoes. And when it's done cooking, I will broil the top for a few minutes to get it slightly crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molina411

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
We loved the combination of favors in this dish. I was skeptical about the cinnamon and cloves, but trusted the reviews I read, and went for it. I chopped up a potato and threw it in the ground beef mixture, and sliced another extra potato to add a middle layer, meaning I used 4 potatoes total. I was trying to stretch the dish to feed my family of 7. It worked well. Everything else was followed, except I used a 2 tablespoons sour cream instead of half-and-half (as I read someone else had done), and a couple splashes red wine vinegar instead of red wine. I think it's a pretty forgiving recipe. I want to remember this one as a way to make a pound of ground beef go a little further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chmeliar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This recipe is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
We really enjoyed this although for the kids they thought it too spicy. I will make this again. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This dish is perfect on a fall evening. Regardless of your native palate this is a classic comfort food, an exotic yet familiar menagerie of spices that leaves your soul satisfied. I recommend doubling the spices, adding garlic powder. Adding 1/4 tsp each of cinnamon and cloves really kicks up the exotic factor. adding the meat back in with the veggies toss in a couple TB of flour, as it will thicken the juices and keep the meat tender while it bakes uncovered
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States