Sensational Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Somewhat dry, not particularly noteworthy, on the plain side and lots of calories and fat from the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah245
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I LOVE this recipe. I prepared and cooked exactly as directed but added a few changes. I took strawberry Jell-O mix, prepared it...and spooned it over the cakes once out of the oven. It helped with the moisture of the Short Cake and added extra strawberry flavor. Or you can use the juice from the strawberries...I like the jello mix. Lastly, I melted semi-sweet chocolate and drizzled it over the cake topping in the middle part and on the top of the cake, cream and strawberries. SO Good. This recipe is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah245

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
really good and easy recipe to follow. Make sure to still in the liquid ingredients (don't use a mixer!). I did use the wisk on my mixer to create the egg white peaks since it would probably take forever by hand. Overall, delicious recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I was so disappointed with the way this turned out. I didn't like the cake recipe, it was more like a pie batter. You should be able to pour a batter into the pan not have to pat it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariemarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I try to say how I honestly feel about a dish and I don't find this recipe all that great... I've just finished making this cake and honestly, all I've had is problems! The recipe is complicated, the batter came out VERY sticky, the cake itself is dry (and I didn't over stir) and honestly the taste is just mediocre. I wont be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skstoudemayer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Harrodsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Pretty good, mine was kind of dry but maybe it's due to needing more practice and not the recipe itself. Definetly worth keeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I made this cake for my brother's birthday because he loves strawberry. The cake was quick and easy to make and turned out delicious. The best endorsement I can give is that my brother said the cake tasted just like the Strawberry Shortcake we get from the bake shop! I highly recommend this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
The batter was too dry. I followed other reviewers' advice and spooned the strawberry sauce over the cake before adding the whipped cream layer but it was still too dry even after I allowed it to sit in the fridge for a couple of hours. I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimber
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This was so easy to make as well as delicious. My family loved it. I was so excited that I had to separate my 1st egg(s) and had no idea that beating egg whites made them frothy. That was a first for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States