Sensational Steak Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Delicious as is, but the bread fell apart after toasting, and wasn't the easiest to eat. Next time I'll try something different than a loaf of french bread. The mustard/horseradish sauce is what took this sandwich from 4 to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akc52

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Very good will make again Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Love it. JPA not much of a fan... oh well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made this tonight for dinner and will make again. As per some reviewers comments, I waited until an hour before dinner to add the veggies and I saute'd them briefly first. I didn't use the horseradish/brown mustard mixed because I had a jar of horseradish/dijon in the fridge. Next time I won't use the mushrooms because they just tasted rubbery and I'll do something different then a loaf of french bread. There was way too much for just the two of us. Otherwise I liked this a lot and have added it to my regular rotation. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I use this website all of the time, and make a lot of wonderful recipes but have never actually "joined", or rated and commented on anything. This recipe prompted me to do so. I made this last night and woke up thinking about it this morning. It was absolutely delicious. I read the reviews and altered it just a bit... I added red peppers and added the vegetables to the crockpot just about an hour before it was finished. I also omitted the mustard/horseradish mix, and added a garlic aoli instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
The flavor of this was very good and a little different than the usual steak sandwich we make. I did not use the slowcooker since I had a small amount of leftover steak. I also do not like dipping the sandwiches so between the two I needed less liquid but only reduced the broth. I'm actually glad I did because i liked the undiluted flavor the rest added. I layered the peppers and onions, then steak, and then mushrooms on top of that. I poured the liquid over top and grilled over a combo of direct and indirect heat for about a half hour in a covered foil pan. I was hesitant to review this since I changed the cooking method, but with summer coming I thought this was an option for both grillers and using the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I sliced sirloin super thin while it was still defrosting and cooked as recipe states. I thought the flavor of the beef and juice were kind of bland so I added about half a package of au jus mix. It helped but was still slightly bland. I liked the flavor of the sandwich better without the dijon horserashish mixture which covered up a lot of the beef flavor. The best part about this was the leftovers, I threw them in a pan the next day with the juice and added taco seasoning and reduced the liquid for fajitas! They were also delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Pretty good. I did use my homemade ciabatti bread (from this site) instead of the french bread. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I used thin cut steaks cut into strips- which was not necessary- the meat was so tender it crumbled & made a messier sandwich. I also paid more per pound that way so next time I'll get a regular cut of steak & cut it into strips. I liked the red wine, it gave it a different taste, but I think I could skip the red wine for my son & hubby. I didn't try the horseradish & mustard, but I did try both provolone & swiss- I think I like swiss better but either makes a sensational sandwich as promised! The slow cooker was a great idea & I like the broth- extremely tender in just 3 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This was okay for us. The meat was tender but not a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sensational Steak Sandwich

The slow cooker is the key to these tender sirloin steak sandwiches.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States