Sensational Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Without my few additions, it is a little bland. Still good, though, so three stars for the original recipe. I added half an onion, minced, minced garlic, and plenty of basil. I threw the veggies, onion, and garlic in the pot with some unsalted butter and cooked it for about five minutes, then added the broth and seasonings and followed the rest of the recipe exactly. With these changes it gets four stars, easily. I will certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
My husband had a cold and felt lousy. I needed something fast and comforting. This was perfect. Nothing fancy just a good base recipe to which you can add your own spin. Leftover chicken broth and chopped chicken in my freezer--check, leftover peas in the freezer--check, love onions-chopped 1/2 onion and thinly sliced some baby carrots. No celery--used celery salt instead, perfect. Needed additional broth so I used instant chicken bouillon. Threw in extra noodles. Lunch in 25 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Note to self: use white meat! Sauteed with butter: onion, garlic, celery and carrots. Added three cans broth, salt, pepper, oregano and parsley. Brought to boiling. Added chicken and noodles. Five year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kendallljo
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
We added just a little parsley, sage, cilantro, chopped onions, a bay leaf, and rosemary. It tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lakerat2006
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I added onion and sautéed the veggies before adding broth. I doubled the recipe and doubled the noodles with NoYolks dumplings. Great comfort food for the common cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I used stater bros chicken broth. I added more celery n carrots also used dry parsley. I also used angel hair pasta. Toward the end I added cilantro. I served with lemon. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I loved this recipe for its simplicity but I did alter it a bit. First I boiled three thin chicken breasts for 30 minutes. I sauteed the carrots and celery in a quarter cup of butter. I used two carrots and three celery hearts. I put the celery leaves aside, chopped them up for later. After I sauteed the veggies, I doubled the amount of broth and used two containers of Swanson broth. I threw the carrots and celery in a pot with the broth along with the chopped celery leaves, added a pinch of salt, a pinch of ground pepper, a quarter teaspoon of oregano and a couple sprinkles of garlic powder. Brought that to a boil, added 10 oz of egg noodles and cooked that for 10 minutes covered. While this was happening, I cut up the chicken that I had put aside into shredded cubes. Threw the chicken in at the very end and voila. I cannot put onions in my food which is a drag but my boyfriend loathes them so I deal lol. It came out delicious. My slider door was opening and the neighbor's cat was going nuts for the smell trying to get in haha. I will definitely make it again but I may even triple the broth or add less noodles as it was a very hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Very good, simple recipe. Great for small kids who are picky eaters. My 3 and 5 year olds gobbled it up. There are, of course, other recipes that have more vegetables and herbs but I chose this one for the simplicity. I also used leftover Thanksgiving turkey in place of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desaiah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I just made this and it is wonderful!!!!! My husband ate 2 bowls and is talking about eating some more!! LOL I did use chicken thighs and deboned them after I boiled them and use that broth as my starter. I grated 2 cloves of garlic in the chicken stock. I also used store bought noodles. This is easy to make and so tasty!!! Great comfort food!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Radford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Good base recipe...add more seasonings...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryjane27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States