Senate Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2000
I have had the soup in the Senate Dining Room, and this is the very much like it. The best bean soup I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosey in Florida

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
A good hearty soup for cool evenings. Great with hot crusty bread. -I wonder if this soup is where all the senatorial hot air comes from? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
I truly enjoyed this but my kids wouldn't try. Something about the beans, LOL. Makes A LOT so if your going to eat it you'll need to scale it down...I will next time. I ate it three days in a row and still had to throw away 1/2 of it. What a shame too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
The "true" recipe for Senate Bean Soup seems very elusive! I have 5 different versions and none agree, sometimes even as to the type of bean to be used. I long ago decided, "Just call it 'Bean Soup', and enjoy!" They are all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
We had a version of Senate Soup at the Mount Washington Hotel in New Hampshire. It was delicious...and, this recipe equals it. Great on a cool evening...and a great use for left over ham bones. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Very good bean soup. I had leftover ham but had thrown the stock away so used just the ham base and it worked out fine. It is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I used three leftover fresh ham bones from a recent party to make my stock. I save all of my carrot, onion, celery, potato, etc. peels and freeze them just for making stocks. Made the stock yesterday, so by today, I was able to skim off all of the fat. I used two packages of beans, so I needed to add more liquid which I did using canned chicken stock. Delicious and hearty Yvonne and perfect for an extremely cold NJ night. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I make a similar version of this soup for my family. The major differences between this one and mine are that, once it has cooked (and cooled off a bit), I: (1) emulsify approximately 1/3rd of my pot with my immersion blender and (2) add 1/2 cup of milk or half-and-half to give it a creamier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was a good soup, but mine came out too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy061601

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I scaled this recipe down to roughly 4-5 portions and made the following changes: used 1 QT of vegetable stock, canned beans, ham bone from Christmas ham w/ remaining meat chopped up into the soup, and added 1 can of Italian stewed tomatoes. Since there was plenty of salt in the stock, the ham, and the tomatoes I did not add more salt, and used 3 roughly crushed cloves of garlic instead of the powder. The end result was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States