Senate Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2000
I have had the soup in the Senate Dining Room, and this is the very much like it. The best bean soup I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosey in Florida

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
A good hearty soup for cool evenings. Great with hot crusty bread. -I wonder if this soup is where all the senatorial hot air comes from? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
I truly enjoyed this but my kids wouldn't try. Something about the beans, LOL. Makes A LOT so if your going to eat it you'll need to scale it down...I will next time. I ate it three days in a row and still had to throw away 1/2 of it. What a shame too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
The "true" recipe for Senate Bean Soup seems very elusive! I have 5 different versions and none agree, sometimes even as to the type of bean to be used. I long ago decided, "Just call it 'Bean Soup', and enjoy!" They are all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
We had a version of Senate Soup at the Mount Washington Hotel in New Hampshire. It was delicious...and, this recipe equals it. Great on a cool evening...and a great use for left over ham bones. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Very good bean soup. I had leftover ham but had thrown the stock away so used just the ham base and it worked out fine. It is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I used three leftover fresh ham bones from a recent party to make my stock. I save all of my carrot, onion, celery, potato, etc. peels and freeze them just for making stocks. Made the stock yesterday, so by today, I was able to skim off all of the fat. I used two packages of beans, so I needed to add more liquid which I did using canned chicken stock. Delicious and hearty Yvonne and perfect for an extremely cold NJ night. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I make a similar version of this soup for my family. The major differences between this one and mine are that, once it has cooked (and cooled off a bit), I: (1) emulsify approximately 1/3rd of my pot with my immersion blender and (2) add 1/2 cup of milk or half-and-half to give it a creamier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was a good soup, but mine came out too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy061601

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I scaled this recipe down to roughly 4-5 portions and made the following changes: used 1 QT of vegetable stock, canned beans, ham bone from Christmas ham w/ remaining meat chopped up into the soup, and added 1 can of Italian stewed tomatoes. Since there was plenty of salt in the stock, the ham, and the tomatoes I did not add more salt, and used 3 roughly crushed cloves of garlic instead of the powder. The end result was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States