Semolina Turmeric Cake (Sfoof) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I was looking for a "birthday" cake that wouldn't be too sweet and didn't need icing. We cook with turmeric all the time, especially in soups and in various foods over rice. What a pleasant and tasteful surprise! I did include some extra ingredients though. I added more pine nuts in and on top of the cake, a little rose water to the ingredients, and when the cake cooled, I dusted the cake with a little confectioner sugar--to look a slight more festive without being too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
We loved it! I don't find turmeric pungent in any bad way at all, probably because I like exotic dishes. I actually made a mistake in using a different kind of flour because our supermarket does not have semolina flour, so the end product is not much cake-ish haha But I love the taste. My 5-year-old daughter helped me bake it and she loved the taste and smell too. I am going to bake it again! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meghan
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
had to make this when i saw the name. several times a day my hungry 15mo runs up to me saying "foof!" it's different in a mild, pleasant way. the whole family enjoyed it drizzled with maple syrup. i think we'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I use fine semolina and no milk. Turns out perfect. I add sesame seeds on top instead of pine nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Yum! Easy to make, not too sweet, and great crumbly texture. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out delicious! As I grow older I'm getting more and more turned off of overly sweet desserts, so this was perfect. I love the taste of turmeric, but it can be pungent--as one reviewer noted--especially if not measured correctly. Make sure you use a proper measuring spoon, because adding too much of certain spices (powdered cloves comes to mind) can overpower a baked good. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I made this cake using Chinese five spice instead of turmeric, and it was great. I really liked the texture. Without the spice, it's also a great eggless cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Barger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I made this for a dinner club party themed "Mushrooms and Turmeric." I was excited to find a recipe that actually fit the theme. It was good and served its purpose but was not one of my favorite desserts. I'd consider making it again for another "themed" meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Chang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
My whole family really enjoyed this recipe!! Its very yummy!! The younger ones put syrup on top to make it even sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
AWESOME CAKE. I love Middle Eastern cooking, and the turmeric is such a pleasant surprise. Shukran :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Prep Cake Pans

Watch how to properly prepare a cake pan in two easy steps.

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States