Semolina Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I didn't have Semolina. Instead I used farina. I also had some saffron on hand so I added that instead of cinnamon. I gave it three stars because of the sugar content. Way too much!! I cut it to 3/4 of a cup per other reviews and my oh my it was still really sweet. I did add a pinch of kosher salt to the recipe as well. It tastes good and I think the saffron gave it a Persian twist! Not sure if I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
If you love Middle Eastern puddings and custards, you simply must make this. It is sure to satisfy. I used 1 cup of sugar, rather than 1.5 cups and added a bit of almond extract and the flavor that resulted was subtle and enticing. If you are a lover of almonds, definitely add almond extract (a wee bit). Also, sprinkle it with sliced almonds and pistachios, afterwards. I ate this for a week and was still so very sad when it was all gone. It was so delicious that I made it again in only a week's time. I took it to a gathering and it received excellent reviews--many comments on the splendidly subtle nuttiness and cinnamoniness of it, as well as on the splendid texture of the semolina. Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Changed it slightly as only put 1 cup sugar in and then added 2 Tablespoons of cocoa. Also instead of milk I used condensed milk. Left of the toppings. It was divine!! Very easy to make - and eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Per suggestions in the reviews, I cut back on sugar. I used 1 tsp. of ground cinnamon and about 1/4 tsp. ginger instead of the cinnamon stick. I also added raisins. I had to add a lot more milk, it was so thick. When kept in the fridge, it really hardens up--to eat leftovers, I heated up the pudding in the microwave with plenty of extra milk. If I made this again, I would use honey in place of the sugar. I made this soley because I had some semolina to use up--it was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
i would add a bit more milk next as i prefer a creamier pudding. i also like it better warm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made some changes to suit my taste - only 2 tbsp butter, only 1/2 cup of sugar and semolina instead of semolina flour. I liked it but for my taste it was still too sweet, at least on its own. We ate it with some plain yoghurt and like that it was just fine. I might experiment with different spices next time to make this even better. The original recipe is okay, too much butter for my liking and way too much sugar if you don't have a serious sweet tooth. For me, this is a good recipe to be tweaked to make it my own but not to be used as is. Just personal prefference...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was delicious. I will most certainly make this again. Great with some vanilla ice-cream and fresh nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
One of those great quick solutions! I put in some vanilla sugar too and the aroma just makes you melt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
was tasty but could've used less sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Just as how I remembered.. Yummy, and very easy to make! Cut down on sugar, added some vanilla essence.. delic... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States