Semmelknoedel (Bread Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I was worried these would not be as easy as they looked, but they came out perfect! I used old onion bread for convenience, and the flavor was terrific! Can't wait to make these for my German father!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I lived in Bavaria for several years as a child and fell in love with Knödeln, especially Semmelknödel, and have searched for a good recipe for years. This one hit the mark. Even after going through several German and Bavarian cookbooks and several internet searches. Everything I found was so complicated but this one seemed very authentic and it was!! And it was so simple and was done in a snap. We made a mushroom gravy to top it off. The only change I made was adding teaspoon of ground nutmeg. It reminded me of my childhood. Thank you for sharing your Oma's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Simply the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
My Austrian Grandma used to make them just like this. A real taste of my childhood. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This is exactly how my Czech Mother made bread dumplings,she learned from her Mother. We served them with Chicken Paprika, making the dumplings about the size of a small lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Really happy with this recipe. I made eight half sized dumplings using a quarter loaf of multigrain wheat bread, two hamburger buns, and the heel of a homemade wheat sourdough loaf, so basically a bunch of scraps, and it still made great dumplings. Topped 'em with bacon & mushroom gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
The best and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Yum! While my entire batch of dumplings didn't turn out, the ones that did were REALLY good! From my experience, I found two things to be key. First, do NOT boil too many dumplings together. I did (in a large, tall stock pot) and some of them fell apart. :( It requires patience, but you really must boil these in batches. Second, when removing your dumplings, be SURE to place them on a FLAT surface (i.e. cooling rack set on top of a cutting board or serving platter) so that they drain properly. I placed my dumplings in two separate bowls. When I removed them from my pot, some water collected in my ladle (there was no getting around this for me - it's to be expected, IMHO). I couldn't avoid pouring some of that water into each bowl and my dumplings became extra soggy as a result. I tried my best to drain the water that had collected and this helped quite a bit. If you allow your dumplings to set for a few minutes, they will firm up and lose most of their "mushy" texture. Once I cut into one of these gems (after having followed my own advice lol!), it was nice and firm and absolutely DELICIOUS. NOTE: Peachy's directions call for making 4 large dumplings. I made double that amount and they were still HUGE! I can't imagine how big these would be if you followed her directions. Covered with gravy, these were great (it makes ALL the difference). Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe on here, Peachy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
My Austrian Oma used to make these! She never measured anything, so I never learnt to make them properly. Have searched for a good recipe for YEARS!!! Nothing worked... these are EXACTLY the same as my Oma's!!!!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Delicious as stated many times previous to me. I used Potato Flour instead of regular, and did a few minor changes, but it turned out perfect, thick & creamy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States