Semlor (Semla) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Aussie
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
My grandmother, whose Swedish, loved them. I certainly did too and it was a great experience discovering a part of the Swedish culture, since I do have that ancestry. The bread itself is amazing and I might make it plain and eat it the way they do in Sweden, with warmed milk in a bowl. These Semlor are definitely a keeper in my book. I dashed mine with both powdered sugar and some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aussie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Thank you! I made this with my half Swedish boyfriend who remembered his grandmother making these. Easy to follow recipe - adjusting the marzipan mix to taste so lots of marzipan (according to the consultant) grating it first helped followed by electric mixer. We thoroughly enjoyed them:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I wanted to like this recipe. I lived in Sweden for a few years and love semlor, but this isn't how I remember them. I don't know how much of that was my own fault. The bun tasted right, but was too dense and chewy. The filling was too diluted by the bread. The mandel massa flavor was lost. I added almond extract and sugar to try to restore some of the flavor, but it still tasted too much like soggy bread. I will compare this with other semlor recipes and try again with some tweaks. It didn't quite scratch my semlor itch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melissmccarthy
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
These were delicious! I'll be making them again, that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissmccarthy
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Giving this recipe only 4 and not 5 stars due to the fact that authentic 'semlas' have almond paste instead of marizpan in the middle..... Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LFulton
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These were great! I grew up in Sweden and have not had a semla in over 15 years. My whole family loved them. Thanks so much. I love to share the Swedish customs with my kids and husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LFulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Excellent recipe. I've never had Semla, so I can't say whether or not these are authentic, but they sure are good! Only one problem- 375 was too hot! My buns started to get too brown on the bottom at around 10 minutes - before they were golden on the outside or cooked all the way through!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Thank you for sharing this recipe. I grew up eating semlor at Easter, and this year tried it myself. My first attempt was a flop - the traditional Swedish cookbook called for four packets of yeast, and gave vague instructions like add "most" of the flour and "work" the dough. I came to All Recipes in desperation, found this, and followed it precisely. The semlor couldn't have come out more perfect. Tack sa mycket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PlantQueenie
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I added a tad of whole wheat flour to my batch, and they came out beautifully! The only suggestion I would make is to wait to dust the semlor with powdered sugar until RIGHT BEFORE you serve them. I dusted mine, stuck them in the fridge for a few hours, and the sugar disappeared as condensation from being chilled appeared. I should know better, but they just looked so cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Amazingly good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eve's kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States