Seminary Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
I eliminated the chocolate chips and nuts and used whole wheat flour. They came out healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
When I make muffins with oatmeal (or oatmeal and nuts combined) I try to use half the amount, let it sit for five minutes or so after the batter's been mixed so that the oats have a chance to soak up some of the liquid added to the recipe, then see if the batter needs more oatmeal or not. This muffin batter did not--1/2 cup of oatmeal was plenty. I ran the oats through my food processor for a finer texture before using it. I cut the brown sugar back to a half cup, used my own homemade applesauce and only used a pinch of salt. Because I'm out of chocolate chips right now, I used raisins. These turned out very good--moist and chewy with a great deal of flavor from all the different additions in this muffin. We enjoyed these very much. I'm really glad I cut the oatmeal in half, I think if I hadn't, the muffins would have been too dry. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
I have been trying to reduce my husband's cholesterol. He needs snacks to take to work for his break. These were just WONDERFUL...very moist and sweet. I gave some to my elderly parents and they loved them too. I used egg substitute and also pecans because that's all I had. Very yummy and good for you! I LOVE this site!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
Delightful! What a great change from the plain old banana muffins. The oatmeal adds texture, and the cinnamon adds a tasty twist. And these are fat free?!? Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Mmm, these muffins make a nice, hearty snack. I made the recipe exactly as directed with the exception of using Orgran No Egg Natural Egg Replacer since my son is allergic to eggs. I also omitted the nuts since we aren't big fans. The larger muffins took about 18-19 minutes, and the mini-muffins I made to use up the batter took about thirteen minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Really did stay moist - didn't become gummy like muffins made with applesauce have a tendency to do. Loved the flavor - great with tea! (I also used blueberries instead of chocolate and nuts)I may add more cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
In reply to first reviewer, these are NOT fat free muffins - they have chocolate chips and walnuts in them! The nutritional data lists them as having 6 grams of fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Very light texture. Used whole wheat flour and raisins instead of the chocolate chips. Hard to resist not having a second. Have to keep a lookout for ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2000
These are really delicious and easy to make. Our whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Absolutely loved this recipe! You can add just about anything to it and it still tastes great! I added raisins, blueberries, and an oatmeal cinnamon topping. Beautiful result =] Thank you for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss. Sweet Pea

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States