Seminary Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I thought these were really good! I followed the recipe exactly, and wouldn't change anything in the future. Someone had said that they don't rise, but that wasn't the case for me... just for the record. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I made some changes which significantly improved the nutritional values of this recipe, and it turned out great! I used sugar twin brown sugar instead of regular, whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, only a tiny dash of salt, 3/4th cup of oats instead of a whole cup, used 1/4th cup of dark chocolate chips, and added 1/4th cup of crushed all bran buds. NUTRITIONAL INFO for a 14 muffin yield: 98.9 calories, 111.8 mg sodium, 17 carbs, 2.9g fibre, 6g sugar, 3.2g protein, 1.8g fat, 15mg cholesterol, 20mg potassium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Excellent recipe! The only thing I altered was the amount of salt (I used less). One friend who ate one said, "Wow!" immediately. I will definitely use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Delicious, they were very moist and pretty sweet. I used half white and half whole wheat flour. I used half yogurt and half oil instead of using applesauce as I was out of applesauce and only had a bit of yogurt. I think next time I will only use yogurt (I find that makes baking more moist then applesauce) and maybe try 1/2 cup of brown sugar to make them a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
It used wholewheat flour and put more bananas than this recipe called for (used 3 VERY ripe bananas), and put less sugar. Came out more cakey (because of extra bananas), but still delicious. Omitted walnuts since I was in rush to make these, next time I will add walnuts or pecans (easier to crush). Nice basic muffin. Will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
These were okay, but WAAAY too salty. 1 1/4 tsp overpowers this recipe. I would cut it back to a 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I made these to change up my toddlers usual breakfast of oatmeal at daycare. A few adjustments: 1/2 c flour and 1/2 c whole wheat flour, 1 c blueberries instead of chocolate chips and walnuts. Very moist and flavorful! Very fast to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
We found these to be very salty and gummy. Sorry...just didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Very good. Gooey the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 81-90 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States