Seminary Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Just made these on a cold Colorado morning. Oh the smell coming from the kitchen! I have a few favorite no-shortening-added muffin recipes and this one is a keeper. My personal tips: it's a little too sweet for me, with the sweetness of the bananas & applesauce I would cut back on the sugar to maybe 1/2 cup next time. And I thought the amount of salt this recipe calls for was WAY too much, I only put in 1/4 tsp. I used whole oats instead of processed quick oats, and I used the full amount called for in the recipe (one reviewer said to cut back to half but the batter would have been too thin). I used dried blueberries instead of choc. chips and added a little coconut. For the last 2 add-ins you can use whatever you like, I used almonds for nuts. The rest I made as-written and like these muffins very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
These were delicious! I ripped one apart 5 minutes after I took them out of the tin and was pleasantly surprised at how soft and moist they are, without being gluey. I did use 1/4c of bran and 3/4c of oats to change it up a bit, and I threw in about 3T of presoaked chia seeds. The only thing i might change next time is to use 1/2c of brown sugar, I'm not sure they need the whole 3/4c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
These were wonderful! I used pecans and cinnamon chips because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zobird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I made these muffins with wheat flour no nuts added dry cranberrys they were so moist might leave out the chips next time and add rasins over all I loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
easy to make taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Made these for a friend. the only change I made was to use blueberries instead of chocolate chips. They were good - but not great. They were gummy, the way that baked goods are when you substitute apple sauce for oil. I won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aubriek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Moist and yummy. I added cinnamon chips for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Excellent and the kids really loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seabrook, Texas, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
A hearty breakfast muffin, really delicious! I made them with oatmeal oats and omitted the nuts. I also would have reduced the salt for my taste. This made 11 tasty and healthy muffins that my whole family liked. Could anyone figure out why they were named Seminary? A great start to any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Photo by SarahMc
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Doubled the recipe right off the bat, so glad I did! Only used 2/3 the amt of choc chips (mini), I think next time I will only use half the amt of choc chips called for and it will be enough. Also will put in some whole wheat flour next time, don't know why I did not this time. Sprinkled some oats on top to make them look pretty. Very good muffin, my kids thought these rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States