Seminary Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Absolutely loved these! I left out the nuts and compensated with extra chocolate chips (to appease my 3yr old - who also loved these) otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Soft, banana-y, great texture bc of the oatmeal, with awesome bursts of chocolate. They are a bit sticky on day 2 bc of the banana and applesauce combo, but if you often sub applesauce for oil in recipes, you'll already expect that. Great heated up with a cup of coffee! Will be in my regular "have bananas to use up" rotation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
GREAT RECIPE! you can change this in so many ways and still have a great tasting muffin. I used Almond flour and gluten free oats - and almonds,turned out just wonderful...will try it again with fresh berrys and see how they manage! Del
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
My picky 5 year old ate 2 1/2 muffins and wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I just made these and they turned out great. I used whole wheat flour and I omitted the chocolate chips and nuts. Now I wished I had not made banana bread with the rest of the nanners because these muffins are a hit in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Just made these on a cold Colorado morning. Oh the smell coming from the kitchen! I have a few favorite no-shortening-added muffin recipes and this one is a keeper. My personal tips: it's a little too sweet for me, with the sweetness of the bananas & applesauce I would cut back on the sugar to maybe 1/2 cup next time. And I thought the amount of salt this recipe calls for was WAY too much, I only put in 1/4 tsp. I used whole oats instead of processed quick oats, and I used the full amount called for in the recipe (one reviewer said to cut back to half but the batter would have been too thin). I used dried blueberries instead of choc. chips and added a little coconut. For the last 2 add-ins you can use whatever you like, I used almonds for nuts. The rest I made as-written and like these muffins very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
These were delicious! I ripped one apart 5 minutes after I took them out of the tin and was pleasantly surprised at how soft and moist they are, without being gluey. I did use 1/4c of bran and 3/4c of oats to change it up a bit, and I threw in about 3T of presoaked chia seeds. The only thing i might change next time is to use 1/2c of brown sugar, I'm not sure they need the whole 3/4c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
These were wonderful! I used pecans and cinnamon chips because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zobird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I made these muffins with wheat flour no nuts added dry cranberrys they were so moist might leave out the chips next time and add rasins over all I loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
easy to make taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Made these for a friend. the only change I made was to use blueberries instead of chocolate chips. They were good - but not great. They were gummy, the way that baked goods are when you substitute apple sauce for oil. I won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aubriek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States