Seminary Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Great moist muffin recipe! I didn't have any quick oats, so I substituted 3 packs of cinnamon apple instant oatmeal and then reduced the brown sugar to 1/3 c. and the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp. It was still very sweet bc of the sweetened instant oatmeal, so I'm thinking I may reduce it to 1/4 c or take the sugar out all together. I used raisins instead of the choc chips. The recipe ended up making 20 muffins. My teenage boys ate them all up by end of day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This is a great muffin recipe. I wanted mini muffins so I added 3/4 mini chips instead of regular and also cut the salt to 1/2 tsp, added 3/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 nutmeg. Delicious and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I used whole wheat pastry flour, cut the brown sugar in half, used dark chocolate chips instead of semisweet, and added nutmeg, allspice, and ground ginger instead of just cinnamon. Oh my goodness... best muffin ever! (as far as healthy-ish muffins go anyway. I could very easily eat way too many of these. Of of my favorite things to bake now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Carreras

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
my whole family raves about those muffins! The addition of oatmeal brings out an interesting texture. I have used oat or spelt flour to make those, and they turn out good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
These muffins are so delicious. I am a picky eater and have been looking for a alternative to boaring oatmeal for breakfast that I can eat at work. I tried this recipe out to a resounding success throughout the whole family. Adding the choc chips definitely makes them better, but they would be good without. The best thing about these muffins are that they stay moist all week. We store them in a cupcake carrier in the pantry for easy distribution. Will be making a double batch this weekend, so all of us will have enough to get through the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
The mix of flavors is just odd. We didn't really like these and won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Great healthy muffins! Will make them again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Don't get me wrong, I do appreciate chocolate chips in many recipes. I am just not crazy about putting them in muffins. I used dried cranberries and dried cherries instead of the chocolate chips. Made these as per the recipe except for the chocolate chips. Very, very good. I think these are a good quick breakfast or with a nice cup of coffee. Nice tender crumb and sweet taste without being too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Brilliant recipe! You can't tell that there's no butter! And I come from a cake-making, cake-eating family, who can almost always make out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pune, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I didn't add the walnuts, but these turned out DELICIOUS! Yum! Great recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States