Seminary Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I was really excited to see these muffins, especially without the added fat, but they were a disappointment. We threw away some of ours and there are 6 of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I have made them twice now, following the recipe as written except I only sprinkle on a few chocolate chips on top which ended up being only 1/4 cup. Just enough to satisfy the chocolate cravings. Would also be good with dried cranberries or blueberries. I had little too much batter for 12 and ended up with 2 extra in custard cups. Next time I will reduce the sugar and salt and try whole wheat to improve the nutritional content a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I can't speak for following the recipe exactly, as I didn't, but I added 1/8 cup cocoa, doubled the banana and chocolate chips, dropped the applesauce as I'm not confident baking with it, and they turned out really good. They are nice and moist. (I freeze my bananas and defrost in the microwave to get extra moist banana.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I substituted Splenda for Baking for the brown sugar, used half the oatmeal to balance out the moisture, half the nuts, and no chocolate chips. They turned out fine! There's too much salt though. 1 1/4 tsp?? I've never used that much in muffins! I used only 1 tsp and they still turned out a bit salty. When I make them again I'll cut the salt in half. Maybe by then I'll have lost ten pounds and I can put in the chocolate chips :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This are very good. The only thing I left out was the walnuts. Def. will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
By far one of the best muffins I've ever made and I bake alot. Muffins are my specialty. So moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettyjobest

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
We LOVED these! I used whole wheat flour and left out the chocolate chips and nuts, and they were delicious. I started making them without realizing I didn't have any oatmeal, so I added 1/3-1/2 cup more whole wheat flour and they turned out great. The next day I went to the store and bought some oatmeal so I could make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These muffins are great. I would have given them a 4, but because they taste so good AND their healthy AND because my kids liked them so much, I gave them a 5. I did not have a banana. I added a whole snack size container of all natural apple sauce (4oz). I did add like 2 TBSP of sour cream I had in the fridge. I grounded up the oatmeal just a little in the food processor because my son is a little turned off by oatmeal and eliminated the walnuts(but even he ate these right up!) I also cut back on the salt to 3/4 tsp. Thanks Christa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
The day I baked these, my rating would have been 3 stars. The muffins had good flavor, but had that typical applesauce-low fat rubbery texture. My changes were 2X the cinnamon, adding 4 Tbsp ground flax seed, only 1/2 tsp salt, and cranberries instead of chocolate chips. However, I put the muffins in a tightly-sealed container, and WOW, the next couple of days, the muffins became WAY better in taste and texture. Nice and moist, with no rubbery texture. Worth waiting for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States