Seminary Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
As long as you know in your head these are super healthy they are great, they are not ur usual over sugary muffins I feel good giving these to my kids in the morning used raisins instead of choc and 1/2 c of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Briana Truong
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I use whole wheat flour rather than all purpose and eliminate the salt. I tried with salt the first time I made these and I don't think it's needed. I also reduce the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. For a healthier "breakfast muffin" I eliminate the chocolate chips and at the end once everything is mixed together I add in approximately 1 cup of frozen wild blueberries (or however much your heart desires!). They add some moisture to the muffins and they're delicious! Not to mention that we always have frozen fruit on hand anyway since our kids love to have it in oatmeal, smoothies, etc. I love the taste and that they're a fairly healthy option. I don't feel guilty giving one to my 3 year old occasionally when we need to have breakfast on the go before work/daycare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briana Truong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by magikat
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
These are great. I followed the recipe as is then added 1/2 cup of chopped dates as well and topped with a sprinkle of oats and brown sugar. The texture is lovely, light and moist. I was afraid they'd be too sweet for my taste (I made them for my husband though and he likes more sweetness)but I really liked them. You could sub in any fruit etc. and use up those over-ripe bananas, which I keep in the freezer until I'm ready to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Used the recipe exactly as written but heeded the advice of Sarah Jo, using only 1/2 the required oats. THEY WERE SCRUMPTIOUS! Perfect consistency and SO MOIST! I considered using dried fruit instead of chocolate chips, but had none on hand, the chocolate made the mini-loaves, sinfully indulgent. I will not only make them again, I'll try different variations because they've been greatly enjoyed! No-one believes the recipe is completely void of oil and butter. Thanks Christa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OdaMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Very moist. I will cut back the sugar next time because the bananas really seem to make them sweet. Nice to find such a healthy and tasty breakfast muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
These muffins are excellent! Moist and flavourful. They only made 12 muffins though (in medium sized baking cups) so I would double the recipe. I didn't put in any chocolate chips because I wanted them to be a bit healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I made this recipe as is and it is so delightful! So much flavor is packed into them and both of my little girls love them. Thank you Christa for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
The only thing I changed was instead of 1 C a.p. flour, I used 1/2 whole wheat + 1/2 a.p. Very moist and delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made this low fat using only 1/3 the sugar, flame raisins instead of choc chips, wheat flour instead of white, added flax seed meal. I ground the oatmeal very fine and omitted the nuts and added more cinnamon. Very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States