Seminary Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I made a lot of substitutions due to ltd. ingredients where I live and aiming for health, but they turned out tasty :) subbed coconut oil for applesauce, pumpkin seeds and flax for nuts. Added raisins. Used 1/2wholwht flour & 1/2ground flax. Added a tbsp plain yog at the end as the mix looked dry. Took 18 mins in my mystery oven where temps are unknown. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
These muffins are perfect! Changes: whole wheat flour instead of white. 1/2 cup oats, 1/4 cup ground flax, 1/4 cut bran instead of all oats, pecans instead of walnuts, 1/2 cup coconut instead of choc chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Very good! I first thought it seemed like their wasn't going to be enough liquid in the recipe. I'm glad I didn't tweak that. The batter was very thick, but the muffins were perfect, not dry at all. They had a great texture. I actually did a couple of tweaks; I used whole wheat instead of white flour, added raisins and extra cinnamon. Healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsPenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pottsboro, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Loved it! Followed the recipe exactly. We loved them hot out of the oven with a little butter and a big glass of milk. They freeze well, so just make a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
As long as you know in your head these are super healthy they are great, they are not ur usual over sugary muffins I feel good giving these to my kids in the morning used raisins instead of choc and 1/2 c of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Briana Truong
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I use whole wheat flour rather than all purpose and eliminate the salt. I tried with salt the first time I made these and I don't think it's needed. I also reduce the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. For a healthier "breakfast muffin" I eliminate the chocolate chips and at the end once everything is mixed together I add in approximately 1 cup of frozen wild blueberries (or however much your heart desires!). They add some moisture to the muffins and they're delicious! Not to mention that we always have frozen fruit on hand anyway since our kids love to have it in oatmeal, smoothies, etc. I love the taste and that they're a fairly healthy option. I don't feel guilty giving one to my 3 year old occasionally when we need to have breakfast on the go before work/daycare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briana Truong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by magikat
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
These are great. I followed the recipe as is then added 1/2 cup of chopped dates as well and topped with a sprinkle of oats and brown sugar. The texture is lovely, light and moist. I was afraid they'd be too sweet for my taste (I made them for my husband though and he likes more sweetness)but I really liked them. You could sub in any fruit etc. and use up those over-ripe bananas, which I keep in the freezer until I'm ready to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Used the recipe exactly as written but heeded the advice of Sarah Jo, using only 1/2 the required oats. THEY WERE SCRUMPTIOUS! Perfect consistency and SO MOIST! I considered using dried fruit instead of chocolate chips, but had none on hand, the chocolate made the mini-loaves, sinfully indulgent. I will not only make them again, I'll try different variations because they've been greatly enjoyed! No-one believes the recipe is completely void of oil and butter. Thanks Christa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OdaMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Very moist. I will cut back the sugar next time because the bananas really seem to make them sweet. Nice to find such a healthy and tasty breakfast muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
These muffins are excellent! Moist and flavourful. They only made 12 muffins though (in medium sized baking cups) so I would double the recipe. I didn't put in any chocolate chips because I wanted them to be a bit healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States