Sell Your Soul to the Devil Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ellen Crow
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I submitted this, and sometimes changes occur during editing. Following are the directions and footnote as submitted. Either way they're delicious, if I do say so myself! DIRECTIONS: Place eggs in pot of cold water. Bring to a boil; boil ten minutes. Remove pot from heat, place in sink, and run cold water in the pot until eggs are cool enough to handle. Crack, peel, rinse off any shell pieces, and dry thoroughly! Slice in half lengthwise, collect the yolks in a medium mixing bowl, and set aside the whites. With a fork, mash yolks until finely crumbled; stir in sugar, salt, onion powder, garlic powder, and pepper. Blend in vinegar, mustard, mayonnaise, and salad dressing one at a time, stirring until smooth. Set aside. Set the whites up on a serving plate or tray, drying each one thoroughly again with a paper towel as you do. Spoon enough yolk mixture into each white to mound slightly above the cavity. If desired, sprinkle with paprika. FOOTNOTES: The older the eggs are the easier they are to peel, so the closer they are to the expiration date, the better. And yes, BOIL the eggs; they're called hardboiled eggs for a reason! That green stuff never hurt anyone, and actually a drier egg yolk is a good thing when making deviled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Crow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I don't make deviled eggs very often and generally don't follow a recipe when I do. However, I thought I'd give this one a shot. The idea of sweet deviled eggs intrigued me. The submitter's directions are spot on for boiling hard boiled eggs--it's how I generally boil mine as well. For anyone who needs any tips on eggs, her advice is wonderful. I must say I'm a bigger fan of savory deviled eggs, but these were a nice change. I like the cider vinegar and will just cut out the sugar next time--but that's a matter of taste, I think. Bf didn't tell me whether or not he liked them, but he finished them all off, so he must've enjoyed them too. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Thought I will try this for a change. Mistake! Sorry, just too sweet. For the first time since I have been making deviled eggs, there were some left. Won't be saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Princeville, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I actually turned this recipe into an egg salad after I systematically ruined each hardcooked egg while removing the shell. The egg salad rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindyamac

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
little too sweet. I did use splenda so maybe that is why?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
My Family loves these eggs, so much that they I received a phone call from the Mom-n-law to bring them for Easter Dinner. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
My sister and I were at home hanging out, so i thought i would make a big dinner and i made potato salad, pasta salad ,and deviled eggs. These deviled eggs Are sweet and tasty. I'll defiantly have to take them to potluck at church!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very sweet and too runny......I followed the directions to a tee. I will stick with the traditional southern recipe. Thanks for sharing though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I made this recipe with only minor changes, as I knew I prefer savory to sweet when it comes to eggs, I omitted the sugar and added 2 Tbsp of Dill Relish. Was irritated to discover I was out of yellow mustard, so had to use ground mustard (spice), added a heavy dash of worcester sauce. Was a big hit, first eggs to disappear off the table :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
These are pretty good and different from the average deviled eggs out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Deviled Eggs

Learn simple tricks to making these classic hors d'oeuvres.

How to Boil Eggs

See how to boil the perfect egg—and get tips for easy peeling and chopping.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States