Self-Filled Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Tasty. I made mini cupcakes and they turned out pretty good. The first batch were regular sized and got tossed b/c they were underdone on top & overcooked on bottom. I slightly lowered temp and watched the rest closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jlnheggelund
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Yummy! I followed the recipe except i only cooked for 18 minutes , perfect. I dressed them up as sunflowers for a friend on her birthday. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Made these and added an extra egg yolk to the cake mix along with vanilla and additional cocoa and sugar. Used mini semisweet chips, and then used the standard chocolate frosting on the Hershey's cocoa box. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I've made these for years and they are always a huge hit. I usually use a dark chocolate cake mix. I think they are rich enough that they don't need frosting, but they are prettier with a dollop of chocolate or cream cheese frosting. The white frosting in the picture does not seem to match the cupcake flavors. I don't know why readers are concerned with seeing the filling on the top or the pit sometimes caused when the filling sinks. It's part of the character of these cupcakes. They are filled and the filling is heavy so naturally, it will sink. Putting the filling in last will keep it from sinking all the way to the bottom. If you put it in the middle it will end up mostly on the bottom. This filling is not light and fluffy. It's more like a cheesecake...heavy and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
The first time I made these, I followed the directions exactly, but didn't like that the chocolate chips were hard inside the cupcake. So the next time I made them, I melted the chocolate chips first before adding them to the cream cheese mixture. I think they turned out better! Nice and moist inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Tastes fine, but if you're looking for a shortcut to filling your cupcakes, this doesn't turn out quite right. What you get is more of a chocolate cupcake with a 'different coloured' centre, with the centre still being a chewy cakey cheese thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
OK, I haven't read all 330+ reviews to see if anyone else tried this, but I'll tell you what I did. I filled a pastry bag with the filling and, and used a very large round hole (Ateco #807) pastry tip so that the mini chips would come through. I filled the cupcake liners with the chocolate cake batter to make sure I ended up with 24 (and I actually could have gotten a couple more, so I tried to divide up the rest to even it out over all). Then I injected the filling into the cupcakes. As the filling is injected, you can see the batter rise to the level that you want to have when you put them in to bake. Had I not had a little spillage into the kitchen sink before I finished injecting the cupcakes, I would have had precisely enough for all 24 cupcakes. Now, when you do this, you will still see some of the white filling on top of the cupcake, but not to worry. If you're icing them, no one will be looking for that there. Hope this helps someone. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Delicious, not too sweet or too chocolaty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
These cupcakes were really good. I did use about a tablespoon of the filling and still had a little leftover. When I make them again I will not add the chocolate chips. They stayed a little too hard and I did not think they added anything special to the cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Easter Eggshell Cupcakes

Chick it out! Bake these cute little cakes inside your Easter eggshells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States