Seitan in Peanut Sauce or Vegetarian Gai Tua Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Yum. Made it with sauteed crisp tofu and green beans. Everyone loved it, even the picky 7-year-old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This was simple to make and fast to put together especially using the pre-made seitan. I made the sauce per the recipe, except that I used agave syrup instead of sugar and used only half the amount called for since I think coconut milk is sweet enough as it is. It was pretty good as is but the only flavors I could really pick out were the peanut butter and coconut milk so I doubled the seasoning elements (red curry paste, chili sauce and oyster sauce) and that helped a lot. I wasn't sure about the spinach but it added a nice color to the dish and blended in well with the other flavors. I served this over whole wheat spaghetti. Will make this again with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Super Tasty! The sauce is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinneapolitanMorsel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I made this with chicken and it was amazing. The sauce is so good, I would make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Made pretty much as stated only used real chicken. I liked it but my husband and kids didn't. I couldn't get a good answer out of them as to what they didn't like about it, they just didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
DELICIOUS! I made w/fresh organic kale from the garden instead of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I did use chicken instead of seitan, but the sauce is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Good recipe. Additionally; however, seitan may easily be made using vital wheat gluten. Some commercially prepared brands include unnecessary fillers and flavors in their products. Making it yourself is very easy. It's also much less expensive, and no doubt healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I made this recipe and thought it was tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States