Seeduction Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This bread is incredible. So worth the time and effort, which is minimal considering the end product. It is so full of flavor I actually prefer to eat it with nothing on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I love this bread. It is very hearty and has lots of grains...so if you don't like that sort of thing....you probably won't like this bread. I've never used barley flour, as just couldn't be bothered searching the city for it! However still turns out well. Often I use the recipe to make two small loaves, as we don't go through bread quickly, seems to still work fine. Obviously reduce cooking time when making two small loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
An absolutely stupendous bread previously available only at Whole Foods, I tried a trial loaf using the recommended ingredient measurement modifications and substitution recommended by "mhowell" above, and found the loaf to be an exact duplicate of the W.F. Seeduction. Having now made multiple loaves, I'm pleased at how much "bread" I'm saving in making this for my family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I modified this slightly for a bread machine because I am lazy, and it is still our family's favourite bread recipe. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I tried the original recipe and the modified recipe and I have to say that I like the original recipe best. My kids do, too.. We like the molasses flavor and the crust isn't bitter. I also like that there isn't an additional tablespoon of honey that the net total of the modified recipe has. So, be sure to try the original recipe---you may prefer it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT! So easy to make and tasty! I only tried the original recipe. Will be making this weekly :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
My whole family loves this bread. I did make a few changes when I made it as I didn't have things like wheat gluten or millet seeds and I omitted the honey and put in malt extract along with barley flour. In the end, it turned out very moist and light, not quite as dense and sweet as the one from WF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Barley flour can be purchased at Indian groceries ("Rav Flour").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbabxsarang
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This recipe is wonderful! I followed the mhowell modifications except without the malted barley flour or wheat gluten. I also replaces the molasses with brown sugar instead. The bread came out a little denser and more moist than the WF version, and also a little less buttery. Still, delicious! My family had it with cream cheese, strawberry jam, orange marmalade, or even plain, and everyone was delighted. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Update: re. malted barley flour, do not use Bob's Red Mill malted barley flour (found on Amazon). It will make your loaf gooey. We tried it several different times. Now we just stick with regular barley flour until we can try a new brand of malted. We also follow mhowell's advice by lowering the molasses, increasing the honey, and increasing the seeds. Overall, incredible recipe. Truly the best bread we've ever had, either homemade or store bought. We now make it all the time, in our bread machine. Our girls ask for it continually. It's more preferred in our family than even the homemade French or Italian breads--and there's nothing like it we can buy anywhere. It's rich and nutty but also light and elastic, slightly sweet. We love it with honey butter or cinnamon butter or cream cheese. It's so filling, soothing, and satisfying, and we love that it's complete protein--excellent value for the cost. Also, it feels good in the tummy and will sooth a sour stomach, which we thought was amazing until we read that millet seed does just that (sooths the stomach). Great way to feel good in the morning and start the day. Thank you, thank you for this recipe. It's a staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States