Seeduction Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I made this using the original recipe above and it was ok, but didn't think it was close to the seeduction bread at whole foods, so I experimented to get closer. The final product was nearly exactly like whole foods. The ingredients are the same, but I changed the measurements and made one substitution. - 1 teaspoon of molasses NOT 2 tablespoons, the bread is way too dark with the original amount and made the crust a bit bitter. - Increase the honey to 4 tablespoons - Increase pumpkin, sunflower, and millet seeds to 4 tablespoons each - Increase the gluten to 2 tablespoons, this really firmed up the bread and made it less "cakey" - I also substituted the 3 tablespoons of malted barley flour with Bob's Red Mill 10 grain cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Barley flour can be purchased at Indian groceries ("Rav Flour").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This bread was AMAZING! It tastes almost exactly like the Seeduction Bread at Whole Foods, just slightly denser. I did, however, make a few changes to the recipe. I used 2t. of yeast and no malted barley flour. I needed a lot of more flour than the recipe asked for, so I used more whole wheat flour and the finished product was outstanding. My clients absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
An absolutely stupendous bread previously available only at Whole Foods, I tried a trial loaf using the recommended ingredient measurement modifications and substitution recommended by "mhowell" above, and found the loaf to be an exact duplicate of the W.F. Seeduction. Having now made multiple loaves, I'm pleased at how much "bread" I'm saving in making this for my family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I love this bread. It is very hearty and has lots of grains...so if you don't like that sort of thing....you probably won't like this bread. I've never used barley flour, as just couldn't be bothered searching the city for it! However still turns out well. Often I use the recipe to make two small loaves, as we don't go through bread quickly, seems to still work fine. Obviously reduce cooking time when making two small loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
My whole family loves this bread. I did make a few changes when I made it as I didn't have things like wheat gluten or millet seeds and I omitted the honey and put in malt extract along with barley flour. In the end, it turned out very moist and light, not quite as dense and sweet as the one from WF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbabxsarang
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This recipe is wonderful! I followed the mhowell modifications except without the malted barley flour or wheat gluten. I also replaces the molasses with brown sugar instead. The bread came out a little denser and more moist than the WF version, and also a little less buttery. Still, delicious! My family had it with cream cheese, strawberry jam, orange marmalade, or even plain, and everyone was delighted. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This bread is incredible. So worth the time and effort, which is minimal considering the end product. It is so full of flavor I actually prefer to eat it with nothing on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I modified this slightly for a bread machine because I am lazy, and it is still our family's favourite bread recipe. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States