Secret Midnight Moon Better than Chocolate Sex Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
I was really scared b/c the batter was REALLY liquidy...so I added a little more flour, but I shouldn't have, the cake was excellent! It really tastes unique and is very moist. Just to reiterate: the best chocolate cake I've ever had, my favorite recipe on this site. Definitely try making this. Also, whoever said this cake was dense and rich did something very wrong, it's really pretty airy, but it still satisfies chocolate fixes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
first time making from scratch. added 1 extra Tablespoon cocoa powder to recipe & used Mocha expresso. Whiskey did give it a hint of flavor but didn't taste like alcohol. Fantastic! Served with whipped cream and raspberries over the top of the frosting. Will definately make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hancock, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
I made this cake last Valentine's Day with hopes of pleasing my chocolaholic boyfriend and also pleasing my best friend's mom (her birthday is on the same day). But instead of doubling the recipe I multiplied it times 5 and had pans all over my kitchen. But the end result was worth it many times over. EVERYONE I GAVE A PAN TO SCRAPED EVERY CRUMB!!! I even got a call from someone's ex-boyfriend (I gave them one of the cakes) this Valentine's Day to ask if I can make the cake for him again this year!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
this cake is a wonderful moist chocolate fix.The best chocolate cake I have had in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
I made this cake for my dad's 50th Birthday. This was the first "from scratch" cake I ever made. I had to omit the alcohol because of my 5 year old sister but it was still pretty good. It wasn't quite as chocolatey as I would like but then again I've never thought something was too rich. The icing can be decieving because I thought it was terrible by itself. But with the cake it improves. I thought this recipe was ok. Very easy to make but not sweet enough for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Not at all what I expected. Moist? Yes, but so moist the cake is completely unstable. You can't take the cake out of the pan without it turning to mud. Though the taste is alright this cake was too much effort for a very unprofessional result. Don't use this cake for formal events such as baby showers. Stick to super bowls and birthdays. Again, the taste was good though the sounds it made while being cut were a little nauseating. My brothers who love the cake have affectionately called it 'cram' after their favorite game Fallout 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mint-Tea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
The reviews were right on! The longer the frosting soaks in, the better. I refrigerated it overnight and the cake tasted fabulous! Everyone in my office raved about it. It was well worth all of my time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
My Daughter and I made this cake for my birthday exactly as the recipe calls for. However we did not have self-rising flour so we used one teaspoon baking powder and one half teaspoon salt for each cup of flour and we also doubled the recipe. As rich as this cake is it still was not very sweet. The cake was more like a brownie texture but it was very dense and very moist. The flavor was just not that great. I think if I was to make this cake again I would omit the water and add more sugar and it would be sweeter and more like cake than brownie and I think it would still be moist as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEMC91

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
After all the great reviews this recipe received, I was very excited to make it for a friend's birthday. Unfortunately I was very disappointed by the results. It was not sweet enoough or chocolatey enough for our tastes. It really tasted kind of bland to me, and the presentation needs a lot of work as well, because it doesn't look very appetizing straight out of the pan. I did let it set overnight as others had suggested. And this cake was a LOT of work for such a result. Sorry, but I cannot recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
omigod omigod omigod this cake is AMAZING. my valentine and i (on valentine's day) baked this cake (we are not avid bakers) and could not believe it actually came from our hands! it is soooo delicious... we added a little more sugar and flour before putting it in the baking pan because the batter was a little runny. you must make this cake (and next time we'll double the recipe. it was really that good!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States