Secret Ingredient Pico de Gallo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
As far as improving on a such a simple dish, the pickle goes a long way. Lime juice a must and we added garlic. Very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
GREAT recipe! I loved the tang and zip the dill pickles gave it. I also added a little shredded cabbage to add more body. Instead of the traditional taco fillings, we layered the taco meat and the pico de gallo and it was fantastic!! Next time I think I may add a little chili powder too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Great taste! I omitted the jalapeno and instead used Hot & Spicy Dill Babies for the pickles. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Very nice recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
We loved this! I did add a little bit extra cilantro but ONLY because I wanted to finish using what I had left in the fridge. I am making another batch soon to take to a pickle loving neighbor. He puts pickles in almost everything but I think this will surprise and thrill him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I basicly made this the same way, but instead of pickle I used a chopped seeded cucumber, and no red pepper. We had it that way in a Mexican Resteraunt[sp?], My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Good. Not great. I didn't think the pickles added much "zip"...but I guess I could have added more. I served the Pico as a side to "Addictice Sweet Potato Burritos" from AllRecipes and the fresh/spicy flavor complemented the sweetness from the burritos well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Good! Not quite as much heat as we like. Need to kick it up a notch for my family so next time I will add more peppers. Not really sure if the dill pickle made much difference, but I will continue to use it whenever I use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
pretty good. we love pico de gallo and make it often. we love the "secret ingredient", it adds just the right amount of crispy, saltiness. we use red onion, Roma tomatoes, and add a tablespoon of minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bloomer Hoerth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States