Seattle Dutch Babies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SLCPaladin
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I've made dutch babies using this recipe 3 or 4 times now. The first time they puffed up well. The 2nd time, not so much. I think the pan you use makes a big difference. When I used a glass pan they tended not to puff up as much. I don't have a cast iron pan, so I used an Emile Henry baking dish this last time and they puffed up fantastically. I also followed recommendations to heat the oven higher (I went to 425). I lowered the temp back to 325 after about 15 minutes and cooked for 10 more minutes. The visual results are stunning with the big puffy crust. We usually eat these with a combination of powdered sugar plus lemon juice or brown sugar plus a little butter. Or, we top with berries and whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLCPaladin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Add vanilla and its Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Made this this morning. Exactly as directed, except added 1 t vanilla. Too eggie for me, so I will try Dutch Babies II next time, adding 1 t of almond extract. This is so quick & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coleebear
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
It was a nice tasty but a bit rubbery. I might make it again since my daughter and hunny liked it but I will try for a softer puffer taste. Also had to bake for an extra five or so minutes to get it cooked through. Maybe a higher temp will give me the results I am looking for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
tried it twice and neither time did it puff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
So I made this and followed the recipe. NOT GOOD! Went to the Seattle Times Food Section on line and found where this goes wrong. Use a cast iron pan, 10". Heat oven to 425. Mix ingreedients in blender. Have Dutch Baby goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Viser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Using the Magic Bullet, I added 1 T. sugar to the batter. I preheated the oven to 450° and used a cast iron skillet, melting real butter (which is absolutely needed for taste). I reduced the heat to 400° and cooked it a total of 20 minutes. A basic Dutch pancake but nothing special. I would make it again because it is very easy and fed 3 people adequately with apple pie filling on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This always makes me feel like a champ in the kitchen. Her recipe is fail-safe. I put it all in the food processor and whirl together for less than one minute, then do the rest exactly the same. Be sure to do the additional 5 minutes at 325 - I skipped that twice and the third time did so, and it was MUCH better - the sides got crispy. BRAVO WOMAN - UPDATE: Did a pair of Dutch Babies in the small #4 cast irons, they came out magnificent with both of them riding the sides of pans. We had two baby Dutch Babies! YUMMMILLY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifur

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cerrito, California, USA
Living In: Aloha, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Let me start by saying I had never had a Dutch Baby until I made this recipe. I made it for the first time last week and followed the directions exactly, except that I had to nearly double the cooking time. I came back to AR and looked at other reviews and decided to try again. So, I made this recipe again last night and added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp of vanilla. I also melted one Tbsp butter in a glass pie plate in the oven while the oven was heating up. I then poured in the batter, added about 15 minutes to the cooking time, and wow! They really puffed up this time and had a much better consistency and taste. I just served with butter and a little powdered sugar. I will definitely be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Social Circle, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
It looked interesting & puffed up nicely but tasted dull even with cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States