Seattle Dutch Babies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I make this for overnight guests and it never fails. However, I usually bake it at 425 F for 25 minutes. We always serve it with powdered sugar and lemon or lime wedges squeezed over the top of the finished Baby. Also, I add 1/4 tsp. vanilla to the batter and preheat the pan. I melt the butter in the pan in the oven and pour the batter into the hot pan (after rolling the pan to spread the butter evenly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
My family loves these. I bake them in one 13x9x2 pan at 400 until puffy and golden at the edges. I also always liberally sprinkle the top with a cinnamon/sugar mixture before putting the pan in the oven to bake. Sometimes I'll put a layer of thinly sliced granny smith apples on the bottom of the pan, and then pour the batter on top. I also love to serve this with the sauteed apples that are on this site. When I don't bake these with the apples, I always make sure that there's warm maple syrup on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
These are wonderful, my whole family loves them. Thanks for a good recipe. Be warned however, when working with this dutch babies (or popovers or yorkshire pudding) from time to time you may have to work with them to get them to puff up. I always start with a hot oven 425 degrees and drop to 375 when they start to rise - always works. Usually melt a little butter in the pan as well to start with a hot pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
So I made this and followed the recipe. NOT GOOD! Went to the Seattle Times Food Section on line and found where this goes wrong. Use a cast iron pan, 10". Heat oven to 425. Mix ingreedients in blender. Have Dutch Baby goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Viser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I have made these for years...I fill mine with sliced peaches, sausage links cut-up and maple syrup. Slice in big wedges for a really fun breakfast !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
A great alternative to pancakes and eggs, because this tastes like a combination of the two. Easy for small children to handle. Much less messy than pouring pancakes and easier to cook. Great texture. I used a 9 inch cake pan, which worked well. Tasted great with butter and syrup. Perfect for a family of four, especially if served with fruit and a breakfast meat. Will definitely become a breakfast staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
I'm not sure if it was just my oven, but I had to bake it for longer. The taste was good, although next time I will probably add some nutmeg and cloves for more spice. Fresh berries on top were excellent, and the texture was like a rich custard. I added a little vanilla to mine, which I thought gave it a nice ring. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
Wow, I absolutely loved this recipe! It was super easy and delicious. I served mine with peach pie filling over it and everybody was delighted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
Yum! This is the best version of this recipe--easily thrown together for breakfast, lunch or dinner. It can be sweet or savory. I add chopped green onions and herbs to serve with thin sliced country ham. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Let me start by saying I had never had a Dutch Baby until I made this recipe. I made it for the first time last week and followed the directions exactly, except that I had to nearly double the cooking time. I came back to AR and looked at other reviews and decided to try again. So, I made this recipe again last night and added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp of vanilla. I also melted one Tbsp butter in a glass pie plate in the oven while the oven was heating up. I then poured in the batter, added about 15 minutes to the cooking time, and wow! They really puffed up this time and had a much better consistency and taste. I just served with butter and a little powdered sugar. I will definitely be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Social Circle, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States