Seattle Dutch Babies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
Wow, I absolutely loved this recipe! It was super easy and delicious. I served mine with peach pie filling over it and everybody was delighted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2001
These were great served with the cinnabutter recipe I found and drizzled with maple syrup. However, I don't think mine turned out right, for they were more like custard than a popover. We like them anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
Great recipe, easy to make. I served with warmed maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
A great alternative to pancakes and eggs, because this tastes like a combination of the two. Easy for small children to handle. Much less messy than pouring pancakes and easier to cook. Great texture. I used a 9 inch cake pan, which worked well. Tasted great with butter and syrup. Perfect for a family of four, especially if served with fruit and a breakfast meat. Will definitely become a breakfast staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
This was quick and easy, but it wasn't anything to write home about. It needed a lot of lemon and powdered sugar to make it taste good. It would be better with lemon zest, cinnamon, vanilla, or a little sugar added to the batter. Will try a different recipe on this site next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
I'm not sure if it was just my oven, but I had to bake it for longer. The taste was good, although next time I will probably add some nutmeg and cloves for more spice. Fresh berries on top were excellent, and the texture was like a rich custard. I added a little vanilla to mine, which I thought gave it a nice ring. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Um... This wasn't very good, sorry, but it didn't have very much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
These were interesting. I am familiar with popovers, but this was my first time eating a Seattle Dutch Baby. It doesn't have a lot of flavor and you really need to pair it with something that has a strong taste like fresh berries. I used apples and cinnabutter (also from this site), but it wasn't enough and really needed more. I think it would be good with fresh berries and powdered sugar though. I may try it again when berry season comes around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I have made these for years...I fill mine with sliced peaches, sausage links cut-up and maple syrup. Slice in big wedges for a really fun breakfast !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
My family loves these. I bake them in one 13x9x2 pan at 400 until puffy and golden at the edges. I also always liberally sprinkle the top with a cinnamon/sugar mixture before putting the pan in the oven to bake. Sometimes I'll put a layer of thinly sliced granny smith apples on the bottom of the pan, and then pour the batter on top. I also love to serve this with the sauteed apples that are on this site. When I don't bake these with the apples, I always make sure that there's warm maple syrup on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States